Ableton and Guitar Rig question

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Von Stinkenhaus

Ableton and Guitar Rig question

Post by Von Stinkenhaus » Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:36 pm

Hey guys. This may be more of a Guitar Rig question, but I have ditched my pedals and have embraced looping and running my effects thru Ableton Live. My patience with hardware loopers ran out. So I'm still somewhat new to Guitar Rig. I'm using 2 Logidy UMI-3s to send the midi commands to Guitar Rig and the Looper plugin in Ableton Live. Depending on what songs I'm playing, I have one UMI setup to transport to different scenes for when we hit changes. But for the most part, I'm live looping.

My question is if I have multiple channel strips for my guitar, with Guitar Rig loaded, how can I make the different instances of Guitar Rig unique? Case in point - I loop a guitar part on one strip and it has delay on it, then I move to the second channel strip and want to loop a new part over it without delay. I hit my foot switch to turn delay off and it also turns delay off my previously looped part. The Guitar Rig commands are global to all strips. I know I can create the next channel strip to just not have delay in it, but this is improvisational and I wouldn't know that at the time. For some things I use the Looper plugin, but I prefer to loop into clip slots for better manipulation.

Has anyone run into this that may have some insight? Thanks.

Von Stinkenhaus

Re: Ableton and Guitar Rig question

Post by Von Stinkenhaus » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:38 am

Ok, just a follow up for anyone here interested in running Guitar Rig in Ableton and accomplishing independent control of effects per channel strip. I joined the Native Instruments forum and found an answer. Not thru NI or Guitar Rig, but thru Ableton and Max 4 Live.