Live 10 and moving multiple arrange events...STILL fkd ???

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
locojohn
Posts: 483
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:42 am
Location: riga, latvia

Re: Live 10 and moving multiple arrange events...STILL fkd ???

Post by locojohn » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:33 pm

muthafunka wrote:Thanks for making the effort. What seems extra strange is that the parts are all there, it's not as if a whole new chunk of the arrange environment needs conceptualising and creating (yes, I know it's not exactly that simple but you get what I'm saying.) Extend the idea a tiny step to the export/render process too and we have multi-file export ability from the same track (which is another no-brainer request at Centrecode).
Totally agree. Well, Ableton focus is obviously elsewhere.. Push 2 users, Max for Live etc. This is a triumph of stagnation in terms of modern DAW enhancements.

Andrejs
Last edited by locojohn on Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
/*
  • the basic tone of life remains the same,
    and in it there are some happy melodies
    and some sad melodies
    - sekito kisen
*/

dna598
Posts: 824
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: Live 10 and moving multiple arrange events...STILL fkd ???

Post by dna598 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:56 pm

AS a fairly disgruntled push 2 user i can tell you they aint listening to jack.
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

oxygen23
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: Live 10 and moving multiple arrange events...STILL fkd ???

Post by oxygen23 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:53 am

muthafunka wrote:Thanks for making the effort. What seems extra strange is that the parts are all there, it's not as if a whole new chunk of the arrange environment needs conceptualising and creating (yes, I know it's not exactly that simple but you get what I'm saying.) Extend the idea a tiny step to the export/render process too and we have multi-file export ability from the same track (which is another no-brainer request at Centrecode).
Yes, they already have this normal behavior when selecting and operating MIDI notes, why not implement same kind of selection for clips, too ? :?:
It's sad that after 4+ years the most useful improvement in Live 10's arrangement page workflow is probably simple zoom command and groups within groups which both should have been implemented long time ago.
(Perhaps capture recording, too, but there is way better 3rd party solution for that and it can be used in any daw.)

After all these years, we still don't have proper mixer where we can see all plugins in a vertical row, no bounce in place, no customizable key commands (and very few built-in ones), no tools (not to mention smart tools behavior).

My biggest disappointment after all these years, we still can't edit (slice, cut, paste) audio in bottom window (ironically called Sample Editor), but when working in session view, we need to switch to arrangement, and there slice that audio, join it to one clip and put it back to session where we can only play with envelopes in "sample editor".

Now, having said that, I love Live because of it's simplicity, speed and fun factor, but there are some basic things missing from very beginning.

Since I am also a Logic user, I think today's (free) update to 10.4 (from 10.3) brought more improvements than Live from version 9.75 to v10.

Hopefully Live 10 will see some nice useful workflow improvements (and not adding more FX and synths which we already can have with 3rd party VSTs) during version 10 lifetime. :roll:

muthafunka
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: Live 10 and moving multiple arrange events...STILL fkd ???

Post by muthafunka » Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:08 am

Yep, fully agree and trying to keep the thread on point and not a cover-all request list: This, and by extension export of multiple single files from the same track are pure nuts-and-bolts. Would be great if you could upvote the request at Centrecode, cheers

Dalski
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:59 pm

Re: Live 10 and moving multiple arrange events...STILL fkd ???

Post by Dalski » Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:27 pm

I'm really hankering for this functionality and have been for a long time now, so I'm giving this post a little bump (as I have on centercode) to bring more attention to it - The centercode post is entitled "L10 arrange - Enable selection of multiple events by cmd/click without affecting other events/time"

If you've got yourself on the beta since purchasing Live 10 and want this function, then please vote for it on centercode.

To the OP. I'm not sure if the thread titles are that great for anyone who may be searching for this on the forum or centercode. Perhaps it could be changed to something like "Feature Request: Selecting and moving multiple events on multiple tracks on arrangement timeline"

andre.pahl@thismedia.com
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:09 pm

Re: Live 10 and moving multiple arrange events...STILL fkd ???

Post by andre.pahl@thismedia.com » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:12 pm

Still not fixed in the upcoming 10.1 :/
Such a bummer

garyboozy
Posts: 2558
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Live 10 and moving multiple arrange events...STILL fkd ???

Post by garyboozy » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:36 pm

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=139753

...and here we are 9 years later. they're in no rush.

Post Reply