How to drag a clip to duplicate it.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
peterandu
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:33 am

How to drag a clip to duplicate it.

Post by peterandu » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:36 am

Using shortcut command + D can duplicate a clip. Duplicating is not a regular drag clip. Duplicate can copy and paste the automation, while drag cannot.
Is there any setup in reference or drag while holding any key can do the same as Command + D (Duplicating)?

miyaru
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How to drag a clip to duplicate it.

Post by miyaru » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:42 am

PC: ctrl drag Mac CMD drag......
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Saffire Pro40, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Air Hybrid 3, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Flexinoodle
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:42 pm

Re: How to drag a clip to duplicate it.

Post by Flexinoodle » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:42 pm

It is Alt+Drag on Mac here ?
CMD+Drag is move ignoring snap.

Fanu
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: How to drag a clip to duplicate it.

Post by Fanu » Fri Mar 29, 2019 4:30 pm

It's option-drag on Mac. Not customizable.
Image
Mastering & mixing by Fanu | Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Mixing and mastering engineer | Ableton Certified Trainer

Machinesworking
Posts: 11077
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: How to drag a clip to duplicate it.

Post by Machinesworking » Fri Mar 29, 2019 5:48 pm

I'm getting the impression that peterandu means automation in the Arrangement page, not Clip automation, and I do not think there is a way to do that without duplicating via Command D. :x

Fanu
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: How to drag a clip to duplicate it.

Post by Fanu » Fri Mar 29, 2019 6:09 pm

peterandu wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:36 am
Duplicate can copy and paste the automation, while drag cannot.
Machinesworking wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 5:48 pm
I'm getting the impression that peterandu means automation in the Arrangement page, not Clip automation, and I do not think there is a way to do that without duplicating via Command D. :x

Automation does get copied if you alt-drag a clip and don't have automation lock on.
Or am I just missing the question here…? 🤔
Image
Mastering & mixing by Fanu | Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Mixing and mastering engineer | Ableton Certified Trainer

Post Reply