A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
jonahmo
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 7:52 pm

A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by jonahmo » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:36 am

It would be really helpful for me. Any way to do this? Maybe in version 10?

musikmachine
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:56 am

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by musikmachine » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:45 pm

In version 10 you can with M...

dougdi
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:45 am

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by dougdi » Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:43 pm

Check out Keyboard Maestro. It does a whole lot more than just map keys. I can't work without it. I am not affiliated to the maker in any way.

https://www.keyboardmaestro.com/main/
Doug

jonahmo
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by jonahmo » Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:00 am

musikmachine, you're saying hitting the M button in version 10 will toggle that switch?

dougdi - thanks! I'll check this out.. are you certain that it could do what I'm asking? It looks kind of complicated.

dougdi
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:45 am

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by dougdi » Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:13 pm

Yes, keyboard maestro can do a simple key remap in a single app or globally. I use it with this USB keyboard

http://xkeys.com/xkeys/xk60.php

I map keys to functions, play macros, open apps and urls in Live, ProTools and more. It is as complex as you wish it to be. Support is good. I barely scratch the surface I'm a basic user but I can't live without the app or keyboard.

It's like getting a label maker, I wanted to automate anything I could think of :D
Doug

jonahmo
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by jonahmo » Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:09 am

Cool, dougdi. Could I then automate the MIDI commands in Ableton?

Post Reply