A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
jonahmo
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 7:52 pm

A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by jonahmo » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:36 am

It would be really helpful for me. Any way to do this? Maybe in version 10?

musikmachine
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:56 am

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by musikmachine » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:45 pm

In version 10 you can with M...

dougdi
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:45 am

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by dougdi » Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:43 pm

Check out Keyboard Maestro. It does a whole lot more than just map keys. I can't work without it. I am not affiliated to the maker in any way.

https://www.keyboardmaestro.com/main/
Doug

jonahmo
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by jonahmo » Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:00 am

musikmachine, you're saying hitting the M button in version 10 will toggle that switch?

dougdi - thanks! I'll check this out.. are you certain that it could do what I'm asking? It looks kind of complicated.

dougdi
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:45 am

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by dougdi » Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:13 pm

Yes, keyboard maestro can do a simple key remap in a single app or globally. I use it with this USB keyboard

http://xkeys.com/xkeys/xk60.php

I map keys to functions, play macros, open apps and urls in Live, ProTools and more. It is as complex as you wish it to be. Support is good. I barely scratch the surface I'm a basic user but I can't live without the app or keyboard.

It's like getting a label maker, I wanted to automate anything I could think of :D
Doug

jonahmo
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by jonahmo » Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:09 am

Cool, dougdi. Could I then automate the MIDI commands in Ableton?

esaruoho
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 2:07 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by esaruoho » Sat Apr 18, 2020 6:01 pm

dougdi wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:43 pm
Check out Keyboard Maestro. It does a whole lot more than just map keys. I can't work without it. I am not affiliated to the maker in any way.

https://www.keyboardmaestro.com/main/
Hi, out of interest, what kinds of things have you set up Keyboard Maestro to do with Ableton Live?

esaruoho
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 2:07 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by esaruoho » Sat Apr 18, 2020 6:10 pm

jonahmo wrote:
Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:00 am
musikmachine, you're saying hitting the M button in version 10 will toggle that switch?
When in Ableton Live 10, you can press the M key to enable and disable "Computer MIDI Keyboard". Press M once, and if the Computer MIdI Keyboard is not enabled, it will be enabled. Press it again, it'll go back to being disabled.

It is pretty useful.

Greenapples2019
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 6:43 pm

Re: A way to automate or MIDI map Computer MIDI Keyboard switch

Post by Greenapples2019 » Mon May 04, 2020 12:58 pm

+1 for Keyboard Maestro. I discovered it a couple of days ago and have used it to automate the opening of Ableton for when we gig. Press one key on my midi controller and KM will:
Turn off my Notifications and wi-fi
Open Ableton
Open my Ableton gig file
Open and set up DMXIS
Set preferences for Audio
Make sure the right track monitors are set to "In"
Go to the right scene

In the past it's been 3 minutes of sitting at the keyboard, going through a checklist. Now I can press a button and go to the bar instead.

Just need to write a KM macro that will enable us to go out and gig again now...

Post Reply