How do I crop a specific part of a sample?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
jennymccreadie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:47 am

How do I crop a specific part of a sample?

Post by jennymccreadie » Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:53 am

For college we've to take recordings of sounds from objects and create a composition using them. I've created a beat using some drums in the app but can't for the life of me figure out how to get just a section of a sample and repeat it within the song.

So far I've been dragging a sound from my downloads into a cell separate from the beat. But the sound just shows up as a wave and whenever I try to delete parts of it to single out one sound, it does nothing. I then used WavePad to cut the sound in to the part I want and am putting it into Ableton in the same way as before. Except now it just continuously loops the one sound I have over the beat and I can't work out how to control it.

Is this a really dumb question? I can't find any straight forward video on it I'm sorry if this gets asked loads.

(I'm using the most recent update and am doing it on a Mac if that helps)

miyaru
Posts: 1052
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I crop a specific part of a sample?

Post by miyaru » Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:33 pm

First turn on warp
then find and select the piece you want
Loop that selection by pressing cmd L
CMD click and select crop sample

That should do!
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

dougdi
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:45 am

Re: How do I crop a specific part of a sample?

Post by dougdi » Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:34 am

You can also use crop without turning on warp mode. Correct me if I'm wrong, I think when warp is on cropping will "bake" the warp's timings into the new cropped sample. Both methods are handy, depends on your needs.
Doug

miyaru
Posts: 1052
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I crop a specific part of a sample?

Post by miyaru » Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:58 am

I cannot select a part of a sample if warp is off, I tried, but did not work......
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Post Reply