Linking Clips

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
CyberLich
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:33 pm
Location: Hell
Contact:

Linking Clips

Post by CyberLich » Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:10 pm

I hope you can help a long time music producer who has just in the last few weeks switched to Ableton Live. How do I link clips in the arrangement view so that if I edit the MIDI data in one clip it changes for all copies?

Tarekith
Posts: 17257
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Linking Clips

Post by Tarekith » Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:18 pm

Ghost or Alias clips are not possible in Live, sorry.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Linking Clips

Post by Stromkraft » Sun Feb 04, 2018 3:26 am

CyberLich wrote:I hope you can help a long time music producer who has just in the last few weeks switched to Ableton Live. How do I link clips in the arrangement view so that if I edit the MIDI data in one clip it changes for all copies?
There are no native ways that I know to do this but there is at least one Max For Live product that can. If you don't have MFL, it is still 20% off a few more days.

I use the commercial JGarcia's AliasClips. It works pretty well. There might be a free one as well, but you have to search for this. I found AliasClips to be a no-brainer for when you need this and it's not expensive.
Make some music!

Mr D
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: E.U.

Re: Linking Clips

Post by Mr D » Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:31 pm

Truly bizarre that this functionality isn't available.

I was able to do this in Login in 1997!

Stefan Jantschek
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:01 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Linking Clips

Post by Stefan Jantschek » Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:05 am

A cleverly designed Link-System is a requested feature for many years.
Although not as popular as "Vocal Comping".
My Vision is beyond Clip editing only.
We could be able to link any Device.
EQ/FX Settings that need to be changed in Recording- and Playback Channels simultaneously etc.
But I think that would make L10 a bit too complicated in the mind of the devs.
So we might continue > edit > copy > delete > paste for a while.
:D

Post Reply