Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
oceanzen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 2:16 pm

Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Post by oceanzen » Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:18 pm

Live 10 not remembering plugin states
This is happening with Native Instruments and PSP audio plugins. I open up the song file and either the reaktor file hasn't loaded or the PSP reverb is at default settings.

Is anyone else having this problem? Anyone have suggestions?

It's very frustrating when you have upwards of 100 plugins in a big file and you have to manually go and check everything

Im on Live 10.0.5
on Mac OSX high sierra 10.13.6

Thanks

Reemo
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Post by Reemo » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:23 am

This happens to me to... With KHS Stereo plugin at least... Sometimes when I load the song, all instances of the plugin are in default state... Not sure why it happens because it happens only sometimes. Maybe because I am zipping the project folders and moving them between different PCs? Not sure, but it because with stereo plugin it is sometimes hard to notice.

oceanzen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Post by oceanzen » Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:59 pm

Thanks for your reply!

With me too, it only happens sometimes, which is why it's so confusing, I can't think what Im doing, I'm opening the same file from the same hard drive,
I do manually backup my live folders by simply dragging the folder to another hard drive at the end of the day but that shouldn't affect it.

This started actually happening in Live 9 and so I upgraded Live and Native instruments komplete to the newer version but it didnt make any difference.
I wonder if there has been some kind of Live hidden type programme files deleted which has caused it to act weird.

jestermgee
Posts: 3023
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am

Re: Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Post by jestermgee » Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:12 pm

Is it just 1 track you have issues with or all of your projects that have these plugins?

I use NI plugins all the time, never an issue like this in 7 years tho I hardly touch reactor.

Have you done some controlled tests such as:
- When you notice a project has some plugins that appear reset, note down which ones they are.
- Close program without saving then re-open. Is the issue still there or did it go back to how it should have been?
- Create a new program with an instance of troubled plugins
- Reload and see if it reset within that

Are all your other plugins fine?

oceanzen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Post by oceanzen » Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:33 pm

It's usually 3rd party plugins and it only happens sometimes, i can reopen a file without re-saving it and the plugins may work or may not.

This has been going on for ages and like i said upgrading Live form 9-10 and upgrading to the latest Komplete didnt make a difference

So Im not really sure what can be done

jestermgee
Posts: 3023
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am

Re: Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Post by jestermgee » Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:37 pm

Well if you are saying that it happens to ANY 3rd party plugin, then you have something affecting basically just you. I'd try completely scrap your live version, delete all preference files and reinstall. I am not a Mac user so no idea about if your OS is up to date or whatever, but if you cannot isolate that kind of issue to just a plugin or vendor or your Live installation and no one else seems to have the same kind of issues it's something with your system.

oceanzen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Post by oceanzen » Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:07 pm

Well one other person has already said they have the same problem.

But a total reinstall is probably the best option
Thanks for your input

jestermgee
Posts: 3023
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am

Re: Live 10 not remembering plugin states

Post by jestermgee » Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:35 am

Well one person has said they have an issue with a single plugin which can happen and even I have had a weird plugin issue but that's always an isolated occurrence. Not the same issue as having every plugin you use randomly lose its value, that sounds completely different so best to keep looking.

Post Reply