Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply

Pros mixing/producing: is 10 stable enough?

Poll ended at Sun Apr 08, 2018 3:16 am

Im going to wait a bit more
2
9%
Its good enough to not stop my workflow
20
91%
 
Total votes: 22

ze2be
Posts: 3454
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Mos Eisley

Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by ze2be » Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:16 am

As of february 7th, 2018. Poll will close after 2 months.
? ? ? ? ?

Tarekith
Posts: 17279
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by Tarekith » Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:29 am

I’ve been using it for client work for the last 8 months, no issues at all for my uses.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6441
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by Pitch Black » Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:22 am

Been using Live 10 in the studio for +/- 6 months and no concerns - the very occasional crash, but no more than I can usually prepare for / mitigate. As with any software, good saving habits / version control etc is important.

I haven't used Live 10 for a gig yet, but I just wouldn't, anyway. I'm boring like that. Nothing in 10 compels me to use 10 on stage so I'll stick with producing in 10 and playing live in 9 for the time being.


/... miserable old reactionary conservative bastard :oops: :oops: :oops:


Live 10 is going GREAT in the studio, though!!! Much props to the Abes for all their work!!!
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Tarekith
Posts: 17279
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by Tarekith » Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:04 pm

We still love you Paddy :)

Razz CE
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 12:53 am

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by Razz CE » Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:56 pm

Not a professional but I spent about two months in the Beta before release. I had slightly more frequent crashes than in Live 9, but it was still pretty rare. Maybe 5-7 crashes in 2 months. I can't say for sure this was Live's fault but I did have two significant crashes that forced a restart of Windows 10. Like I said though, mostly stable.
Win 10 x64/16GB/i7 6700k
Live 9 Suite/Cubase Pro 9.5
Audient iD4/Push 2/Steinberg CMC-CH/Launchkey 25

Pitch Black
Posts: 6441
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by Pitch Black » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:52 pm

Live's stellar crash recovery makes it a safe bet for studio use.

One of my favourite new features in 10 is keeping the Undo function intact after saving. I once lost half a day's final mixing on a track by fat-fingering "delete" while I had inadvertantly selected almost the entire arrangement in Arrange View. 3AM me freaked, and for some reason hit save reflexively - oops - cementing the fuckup. That was the inciting incident to the strict version control regime I have today. :lol:
But no longer an issue - Live now protects us aginst our own stupidity! (mostly)

@Tarekith :D awww... smootchies!

Image
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Tarekith
Posts: 17279
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by Tarekith » Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:24 pm

LOL, I still have that pic saved from back in the day :)

ze2be
Posts: 3454
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Mos Eisley

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by ze2be » Fri Feb 09, 2018 6:32 pm

All positive in the poll so far! :)
? ? ? ? ?

mxcreep
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:00 pm

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by mxcreep » Fri Feb 09, 2018 6:50 pm

Yesterday 4 crashes in 2 hours... Push2 + Live both frozen, just a bit of jamming on a nice 64 pad drumrack.
Never had this with Live 9... Not even one crash, so I'm not happy.

lalakulo
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:30 am

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by lalakulo » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:11 pm

mxcreep wrote:Yesterday 4 crashes in 2 hours... Push2 + Live both frozen, just a bit of jamming on a nice 64 pad drumrack.
Never had this with Live 9... Not even one crash, so I'm not happy.
Same here, loads of bad hangs and crashes.
With midi feed, with midi overdub which results in lag and then crash.
With startup rescanning vst's which takes ages and hangs.

Had never any real problems since live 4 to 9 till now with version 10......

mxcreep
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:00 pm

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by mxcreep » Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:54 am

My experiences are Ableton only, no VST's loaded. Just Live 10 Suite + ASIO driver.
Ditching ASIO and using the slow default driver doesn't help.
For now I'll stick with Live 9 :(

Bionecteur
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 11:16 am
Location: Berlin/Aachen

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by Bionecteur » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:13 am

Hi Ialakulo, could you please post your specs? would be helpful . I am not sure if I should update now or wait a bit.


ok, just finished reading all the threads about issues with 10... there seems to be a some issues with the first official version. I will skip 10 for now...


Update: Saw your specs in another thread ...thanks and good look with your issues ! Hope you get it solved
ritsch, ratsch, klick

lalakulo
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:30 am

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by lalakulo » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:25 pm

Bionecteur wrote:Hi Ialakulo, could you please post your specs? would be helpful . I am not sure if I should update now or wait a bit.


ok, just finished reading all the threads about issues with 10... there seems to be a some issues with the first official version. I will skip 10 for now...


Update: Saw your specs in another thread ...thanks and good look with your issues ! Hope you get it solved
Could be i am one of the unlucky few tho. Don't see many with the same problems.

I am sure ableton will solve it.

mxcreep
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:00 pm

Re: Professionals in mix/prod: is 10 stable enough?

Post by mxcreep » Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:09 pm

It's not uncommon for first releases to have some bugs triggered in specific scenarios.
Apparently I have such a scenario. I send all the crash reports to Ableton to help them fix it.
Hopefully there will be a new minor release with fixes soon.

Post Reply