"Upgrade" to Live 10, - reinstall plugins etc.?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
alsgrooves
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 1:26 pm

"Upgrade" to Live 10, - reinstall plugins etc.?

Post by alsgrooves » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:25 am

Hi,

Quick question, is the the upgrade from Live 9 to 10 an "in place" upgrade.
ie.
Is it a case of:
A: Are my plugins, user library, preferences retained?
OR
B: Live 10 is installed as a new, independent piece of software such that I need to reinstall plugins, move content/user-library etc?

Thanks,
Alan


SpeedKing
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:51 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: "Upgrade" to Live 10, - reinstall plugins etc.?

Post by SpeedKing » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:53 pm

The article posted there pretty much says it.

Long story short, nope, the process is very quick/easy actually. I was dreeaaading reinstalling everything Ableton-related, as between my plugins and packs and just everything else, a fresh Ableton install is usually around 4-5 hours for me. I was prepared for this.

However, much to my surprise (I hand't seen that article yet), I installed Ableton 10 right from the download, and it took a bit to install, and lo and behold, when I opened it, EVERYTHING was exactly how I had it set up in Live 9. Everything in my "preferences", my "File Folder" section, every single one of my ~20 VSTs, what I had chosen to 'view' and 'hide' and all that stuff, everything carried over.

So yeah, while a fresh install of Ableton takes me hours to install, set up, get my preferences set, etc. This upgrade from 9 Suite to 10 Suite took all of 7 minutes, and I was ready to record audio or write/record MIDI, just as if I opened Live 9. I was impressed.

EDIT: It's important to note though that I had Live 9 installed at the time, and that Live 10 just looks at your Live 9 installation to figure out all your settings. So, don't uninstall Live 9 until AFTER you install Live 10, or your life will be a lot more complicated.

chrk
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:36 pm

Re: "Upgrade" to Live 10, - reinstall plugins etc.?

Post by chrk » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:47 pm

SpeedKing wrote:EDIT: It's important to note though that I had Live 9 installed at the time, and that Live 10 just looks at your Live 9 installation to figure out all your settings. So, don't uninstall Live 9 until AFTER you install Live 10, or your life will be a lot more complicated.
That totally depends on how thoroughly you do with your uninstall. Just don't go through all the steps of this: Uninstalling Live completely (Win) or that: Uninstalling Live completely (Mac), stop short after step three in either, before deleting the libraries and user preferences.

The Live 10 installer will find those and import them, it doesn't care if the actual application is still installed or not.

alsgrooves
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 1:26 pm

Re: "Upgrade" to Live 10, - reinstall plugins etc.?

Post by alsgrooves » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:25 pm

Great stuff, thanks for the info, was sweating it there for a short while!

vido
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: "Upgrade" to Live 10, - reinstall plugins etc.?

Post by vido » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:36 pm

Unfortunately it wasn't like that for me. Looks like I have to install everything again.
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.

jestermgee
Posts: 3461
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: "Upgrade" to Live 10, - reinstall plugins etc.?

Post by jestermgee » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:42 pm

vido wrote:Unfortunately it wasn't like that for me. Looks like I have to install everything again.
Shouldn't have to at all. Your packs should all be on your drive, you may need to check/set the path in the new Live but it should have carried over your settings.

vido
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: "Upgrade" to Live 10, - reinstall plugins etc.?

Post by vido » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:01 am

jestermgee wrote:
vido wrote:Unfortunately it wasn't like that for me. Looks like I have to install everything again.
Shouldn't have to at all. Your packs should all be on your drive, you may need to check/set the path in the new Live but it should have carried over your settings.
Actually you're right, my old packs seems to be installed. But folder-structures, VST-folders, VST's etc needs to be redone. Think I'll wait with this and see if there is a solution: delete a folder here, copy paste the old one, stuff like that. Reinstalling things is not my favorite..

EDIT: actually when reopening it seems to work with VSTs! Thats the most important. For some reason "places" in the browser didin't import.
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.

Post Reply