New to Ableton and music pro, start with 9 or 10? Have both

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
cdchrono

New to Ableton and music pro, start with 9 or 10? Have both

Post by cdchrono » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:51 am

Hi everyone!

I bought Live 9 and the push 2 a month ago and recently got a free upgrade because it is apparently more compatible with my push 2 controller. I've dabbled a little but am still at the complete beginner stage, meaning I know absolutely nothing. All I have are the ideas in my head. I know 10 just came out so I installed it (suite) but there are very limited tutorials and I have absolutely no idea how to convey my ideas, although I'm having a ton of fun with simple stuff.

Should I learn Ableton on version 9 before jumping into 10? There are a ton of tutorials for 9 and hardly any for 10 and I need a walkthrough from the absolute basics. How well does 9 correlate to 10? I am even having trouble saving my work properly, I'm so new. Thanks for the help

login

Re: New to Ableton and music pro, start with 9 or 10? Have both

Post by login » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:06 am

Almost all from Live 9 applies to Live 10, someone new in fact won't note the changes at all I think and some new features are very good as multi clip editing and Push 2 also got some new stuff as showing the MIDI clip content. And editing the new wavetable synth from Push 2 is also nice.

So I will just go for Live 10. Don't worry about tutorials, almost all that knowledge keeps being useful.

markwphoto

Post by markwphoto » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:08 am