Midi not launching at the correct time.

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ChrisRolo

Midi not launching at the correct time.

Post by ChrisRolo » Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:27 pm

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to ableton and i'm sure there is a simple answer to this question. I've watched various tutorials but can't seem to figure it out.

I'm sorting out click tracks for all of my bands songs so i can run a lighting show via DMXIS to be in time with our music. I've loaded each song into arrangement view, added a midi track and automated the midi tracks to go along with out songs.

I've then put all the tracks in session view into scenes but clicking the file and pressing tab. When i click play in the scene it fires each individual audio track as it should.

The problem is when i try to do it with the midi click, it will work initially but if i go back through the songs it will only fire at the last tempo and not the tempo of that particular song I've mapped in midi. So for example if i go back to play the first song in the set (160bpm) it will play the correct song but the tempo will be 100bpm (the tempo of the last midi click track i uploaded).

What am i doing wrong :?

I'm sure a giant 'oh yeaahhhhh' will be just around the corner but i would appreciate some help getting there!

Thanks Y'all.

Richie Witch

Re: Midi not launching at the correct time.

Post by Richie Witch » Mon Feb 12, 2018 5:29 pm

If I understand what you're doing there, the tempo is not set by the MIDI clips; it is set by the Scene. You can change the title of each scene to match the tempo you want by adding the tempo to the name of the scene. For more information, see page 110 of the Ableton Live manual.
"Watching the Sky" ~ A 4-track EP of piano, strings, and Native American flute

ChrisRolo

Post by ChrisRolo » Mon Feb 12, 2018 5:32 pm

Ok, i understand that.