Activate a clip

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Splepp
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:20 pm

Activate a clip

Post by Splepp » Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:23 pm

Hi guys
I use Ableton live for backing tracks.
My songs are devided in all their musical parts.
They will be activated by a midi track, (excepted, when I want to leave a looping scene, for example after an instrumental solo. Then I have to press enter)

What I would like to know:
In a running (looping) scene I would like to activate or deactivate clips (for example a horn section). But this has to be strictly in time.
For example my loop is 8 beats.
I decide live that I want the horns to start with the next repetition of the loop.
Because I am very busy with playing my instruments I don't like to start it at a special time.
I just want to do it by pressing a controller at a ANY TIME in the running loop.

Unfortunately activating a clip by midi is not a feature.
Does anyone has an idea how to realize this?

Splepp
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:20 pm

Re: Activate a clip

Post by Splepp » Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:49 pm

Ok. I found an answer :-)
Dont know, if it is the best, but at least it works.
Steve

AAdel
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:54 pm
Location: Middle East
Contact:

Re: Activate a clip

Post by AAdel » Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:41 am

You should use Ableton Live in Scene (Performance mode) and arm your desired clip by pushing a key on Ableton Push or some other MIDI controller, then it plays in the next start of the loop.
Adel Al Agha ???? ?? ???
Singer, Music Producer & Trainer
https://radionama.com
Image

Splepp
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:20 pm

Re: Activate a clip

Post by Splepp » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:26 pm

AAdel wrote:You should use Ableton Live in Scene (Performance mode) and arm your desired clip by pushing a key on Ableton Push or some other MIDI controller, then it plays in the next start of the loop.
Yes fine.
But how to arm a clip by midi?
I mean, I can play it by midi, I can make different controls by midi. But arming? How?
I choose Midi and then a lot of fields are blue.
But which one do I have to choose?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1635
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Activate a clip

Post by [jur] » Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:38 pm

You might also want to take a look at follow actions.
Ableton Forum Moderator

arretx
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:29 am

Re: Activate a clip

Post by arretx » Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:58 am

Are we talking about Arming a track? Enabling or Disabling a clip? Or launching a clip?
MacBook Air | Ableton Live 9.7.5 2017-10-02 | Advance 61 Keybaord w/VIP 3.0 | Launchpad Mini | Scarlett Focusrite 18i8 | iPad Pro / OnSong | Allen & Heath QU-32

Splepp
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:20 pm

Re: Activate a clip

Post by Splepp » Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:11 pm

Hi arretx
I'm not quite shure about the meaning of "arming" a clip.
But as AAdele wrote:
AAdel wrote:... and arm your desired clip by pushing a key... or some other MIDI controller, Then it plays in the next start of the loop.
...is exactly what I want.
I mean, a scene (with all clips of the same length) is running in loop mode.
And what I want is adding a clip that
AAdel wrote:... plays in the next start of the loop.
I would call it enabling. But if it is done by "arming" it, fine.
Don't matter 'bout the word, but about the result :-)

Post Reply