VST scan every run 10.0.1

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Robert de Clair
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:14 am

VST scan every run 10.0.1

Post by Robert de Clair » Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:19 am

Hi
As in topic - Ableton suite scans VST every run. its annoying because my whole VST folder is huge (Komplete 11U + many other VST) can took about 6 mins for scan.
Where could be problem? @ 9 suite i just scan VST once or on demand and everything run smooth.

Is there some kind of switch or option who I miss?

Rivanni
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:30 pm

Re: VST scan every run 10.0.1

Post by Rivanni » Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:20 pm

Read this http://www.heavyweightbass.net/index.ph ... zcymw0hwz/

The option you're looking for is -NoVstStartupScan.

A lot of sites and videos about the option.txt file.

lalakulo
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:30 am

Re: VST scan every run 10.0.1

Post by lalakulo » Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:39 pm

@topicstarter.
Don't know why live 9 scans fast and 10 slow, it's like 9 remembers scanned vst and indexes those? and 10 doesn't? , had the same issue.

stratusseeker
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 2:07 pm

Re: VST scan every run 10.0.1

Post by stratusseeker » Fri Nov 30, 2018 3:51 pm

10.0.5 scanning super slow here.

koranek
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:51 am
Location: You got to be somewhere

Re: VST scan every run 10.0.1

Post by koranek » Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:27 pm

The only thing that finally worked for me was to use an SSD for my system drive. As soon as I did that, many of my Live problems went away, especially slow startups.
Licensed Counselor
johnkoranekcounseling.com
https://soundcloud.com/johnkoranek

Mac Pro 3.33 Ghz 6 core Xeon, 32 G ram, OS 10.12.6
Push 2
Novation Impulse
iConnectAudio 2+, iConnectMidi 4+
Live 10 Sweet

bezik
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:11 pm

Re: VST scan every run 10.0.1

Post by bezik » Fri May 31, 2019 12:13 pm

ive tried adding the -NoVstStartupScan in the options file but still bet the scan every time i fire up ableton, has this been removed in 10.1, as the OP mentioned this is a painful process if you have a large plugin folder

TheCoil
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: VST scan every run 10.0.1

Post by TheCoil » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:14 pm

I have the same problem. The NoVstStartUpScan options text works great on my windows 7 machine but it doesn't work on my Windows 10 machine, Ableton still scans the vsts on start up.

Post Reply