ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ricoeliso
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:05 pm

ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by ricoeliso » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:19 pm

I am having a major issue with CPU overload using Ableton. The problem started in Ableton 9 and has persisted/worsened in version 10. To explain:

1. I’m working on an existing project (that was actually started in Ableton 8 and has progressed with me through 9 and 10)
2. When I open the project it works fine for approx 10-15 minutes THEN the CPU appears to jump around everywhere. Major glitches in playback before becoming virtually unplayable (it almost sounds like the track is running in slow-mo)
3. When I close and re-open Live the same problem persists, until I close down the laptop for a few hours and come back to it

This now happens EVERY TIME I work on this project in Live. I am using a top of the range 2017 MacBook Pro with the following specs:

MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2016, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports)
Processor: 3.3 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3
Graphics: intel Iris Graphics 550 1536 MB

So there is no reason the laptop should be at fault.

I have tried doing all the CPU saving tricks (freezing/flattening tracks, group bus tracks for effects etc) and nothing is working!

Any Help Appreciated!!!

Regards, Rich

oneder
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:07 pm

Re: ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by oneder » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:25 pm

If you started this project in 8, you should have been done with it ages ago.... :o

McAnix
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by McAnix » Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:57 pm

As it sounds like you have been with Ableton for a while then you probably have tried all the usual trouble shooting tricks (changing the buffer has no effect right?)

It is possible that it could be your OS. One of my friends recently had major issues with live after booting his new MB from a time machine backup. Strangely it was only live that gave him issues.

Are you using an audio interface? It might not be supported for your current OS.

I would suggest contacting support and maybe changing the title of your post so that more knowledgeable Mac users can chime in.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by Stromkraft » Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:48 pm

ricoeliso wrote: MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2016, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports)
Processor: 3.3 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3
Graphics: intel Iris Graphics 550 1536 MB
That's a duocore machine. Baseline really is quadcore these days, unless you use only external instruments. Maybe you do? Could you please describe what you have in your tracks in more detail?

Audio buffer settings?
Make some music!

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by [jur] » Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:57 pm

If you're using the same settings and setup in L8/9/10 and are experiencing issues with L10 only, then you'd probably better off getting in touch with support@ableton.com.
First I'd try thrashing Live's preferences, and check the 3rd party plugins in your set.
Ableton Forum Moderator

MorbinMusic
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:23 am

Re: ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by MorbinMusic » Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:37 am

if you're using pirated plugins/vsts, that may be the issue.

yur2die4
Posts: 6365
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by yur2die4 » Fri Mar 16, 2018 2:25 pm

I agree with stromkraft.

Also, I don't know what kind of project you are doing. Is it a song? A set for like live performance? There are many variables.

If it were for instance an installation, in that case it might be best off to stick to the version of Live it was initially created on as it is unlikely to take advantage of new features.

If it is an ongoing work it is probably okay. But if you continually add and add and add new content you ought to also be aware that there are eventually limits where you'll need to compromise on flexibility and start bouncing things down to streamline the set.

tomf
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:02 pm

Re: ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by tomf » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:14 am

Ableton has become a joke and so unreliable since Live 10

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: ABELTON 10 - CPU OVERLOAD

Post by [jur] » Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:41 am

tomf wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:14 am
Ableton has become a joke and so unreliable since Live 10
Can you elaborate?
I know many people, including myself, that think that Live is better and more reliable than ever.
Ableton Forum Moderator

Post Reply