APC40 Mk2 buttons stopped corresponding to Ableton Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
luxxury
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: LA, CA, USA
Contact:

APC40 Mk2 buttons stopped corresponding to Ableton Live

Post by luxxury » Thu Apr 19, 2018 4:03 pm

Hi - I just bought Ableton 10 and opened a file that had been working in Ableton 9. The mappings are still there, but the hardware buttons and knobs no longer reflect what they are doing in the software. In other words if I press the 1 button on the APC, track 1 toggles successfully on my screen, but remains unlit on the device (though oddly it *does* toggle the 15th small light on the first knobs - which was not part of the midi mapping I made). I've turned MIDI off and on in Ableton, and gone through every combination in Ableton's preferences (MIDI input/output track/sync/remote) and nothing solves this. Any ideas welcome, thanks!
MacBook Pro Retina 15 inch/mid 2014
OS X Yosemite 10.10.3, 2.5 ghz i7, 16 gigs ram

http://www.soundcloud.com/luxxury
http://www.twitter.com/luxxury
http://www.facebook.com/luxxury
http://www.luxxury.com

S4racen
Posts: 5202
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: APC40 Mk2 buttons stopped corresponding to Ableton Live

Post by S4racen » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:49 pm

Have you got MIDI mappings in the browser when you switch MIDI Mapping ON?

I'd delete and start from scratch...

Cheers
D

luxxury
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: LA, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: APC40 Mk2 buttons stopped corresponding to Ableton Live

Post by luxxury » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:06 pm

Yeah, all the MIDI mappings are still there. It's a session I've been updating for nearly four years so it's pretty rich. Since the issue clearly started when I installed Ableton 10 I was hoping it was a known thing - like, "AB 10 replaces your midi prefs and here's how you can get them back to the old ones" or something. If scrapping it all and starting from zero is the only way so be it but I'd love to not have to!

***UPDATE****

Just did a Save As, selected all the MIDI mappings and hit delete. Restarted Ableton, plugged the APC back in, and it still has the same issue - buttons do not correspond to whats on the screen. Currently track 1, 2 and 4 are lit up in the SW but the HW numbers don't light up at all, even when toggling. Shit.
MacBook Pro Retina 15 inch/mid 2014
OS X Yosemite 10.10.3, 2.5 ghz i7, 16 gigs ram

http://www.soundcloud.com/luxxury
http://www.twitter.com/luxxury
http://www.facebook.com/luxxury
http://www.luxxury.com

Post Reply