latency problems

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Post Reply
hally flip
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 8:34 am

latency problems

Post by hally flip » Sun May 13, 2018 8:38 am

HEY EVERY ONE !! latency problems ! looked at the suggestions on how to reduce on ableton site but it didnt fix. so messeed about a bit and found that with "DELAY COMPENSATION " unticked is problem solved.

miyaru
Posts: 1267
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: latency problems

Post by miyaru » Sun May 13, 2018 4:20 pm

Good for you!!! What system, OS, etc so other can benefit too....
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, ESI M4U eX, Reason 12, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8 and Monitor Station V2, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Yamaha RM1x :mrgreen:

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: latency problems

Post by Stromkraft » Sun May 13, 2018 9:13 pm

hally flip wrote:HEY EVERY ONE !! latency problems ! looked at the suggestions on how to reduce on ableton site but it didnt fix. so messeed about a bit and found that with "DELAY COMPENSATION " unticked is problem solved.
Another way, without side-effects is to not use devices and plug-ins with latency.
Or turn off PDC when recording.
On the good side you're about to find out why there is something called Delay Compensation
Make some music!

majorjoy
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:36 am

Re: latency problems

Post by majorjoy » Sun May 20, 2018 6:29 am

Hi, I'm finding 'unusual' and rather annoying latency/delayed sound playback problems too in Ableton 10. Even when all of my plugs in are turned off.

And found that unticking the 'Delay Compensation' corrected it as well.

Any downsides of this? (Intrigued by Stromkraft's reply!).

I'm using iMac Pro (10 core, 64GbRAM) with High Sierra- should be super fast. My old iMac Pro runs Live 9 perfectly in Sync! WTF!

Dalicus
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:51 am

Re: latency problems

Post by Dalicus » Sat May 09, 2020 11:20 pm

When I'm multitasking on my laptop I use an Autohotkey script which suspends (freezes) other apps of my choosing running when Ableton is the active window. Completely resolved dropouts I was getting and will allow reducing latency to some degree on many systems.

Here is the script. Install Auto-hotkey and run script. Should work for any Windows 10 or 7 rig,

Change or delete lines with the names of the processes in the script (eg. Notepad.exe) so you have just the names of the processes you want to suspend.

Be aware suspending browsers may cause downloads to be interrupted or cause similar problems with certain apps.m Credit to original author of script (not me).

------------------------------------------------ SCRIPT FOLLOWS. COPY EVERYTHING BELOW---------------------------------------------------

#NoEnv ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
; #Warn ; Enable warnings to assist with detecting common errors.
SendMode Input ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir% ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.

Start:

WinWaitActive, ahk_class Ableton Live Window Class

Process_Suspend("Notepad.exe")
Process_Suspend("Firefox.exe")
Process_Suspend("Chrome.exe")
Process_Suspend("smplayer.exe")
;Process_Suspend("Explorer.exe")
Process_Suspend("SearchIndexer.exe")
Process_Suspend("SearchProtocolHost.exe")
Process_Suspend("Notepad++.exe")
Process_Suspend("OfficeClickToRun")
Process_Suspend("ctfmon")
Process_Suspend("WINWORD.exe")
Process_Suspend("Firemin_X64.exe")
Process_Suspend("Audacity.exe")
Process_Suspend("ClassicStartMenu.exe")
Process_Suspend("MPV.exe")
Process_Suspend("JacketService.exe")
Process_Suspend("JacketConsole.exe")
Process_Suspend("FoxitPhantomPDF.exe")
Process_Suspend("OfficeClickToRun.exe")
Process_Suspend("gapa.exe")
Process_Suspend("DolbyDAX2API.exe")
Process_Suspend("FoxitPhantomPDFUpdater.exe")
Process_Suspend("splwow64.exe")
Process_Suspend("Spoolsv.exe")
Process_Suspend("7zFM.exe")
Process_Suspend("Excel.exe")
Process_Suspend("VLCPortable.exe")
Process_Suspend("VLC.exe")
Process_Suspend("Acrobat.exe")
Process_Suspend("mmc.exe")

WinWaitNotActive, ahk_class Ableton Live Window Class

Process_Resume("Notepad.exe")
Process_Resume("Firefox.exe")
Process_Resume("Chrome.exe")
Process_Resume("smplayer.exe")
;Process_Resume("Explorer.exe")
Process_Resume("SearchIndexer.exe")
Process_Resume("SearchProtocolHost.exe")
Process_Resume("Notepad++.exe")
Process_Resume("OfficeClickToRun")
Process_Resume("ctfmon")
Process_Resume("WINWORD.exe")
Process_Resume("Firemin_X64.exe")
Process_Resume("Audacity.exe")
Process_Resume("ClassicStartMenu.exe")
Process_Resume("MPV.exe")
Process_Resume("JacketService.exe")
Process_Resume("JacketConsole.exe")
Process_Resume("FoxitPhantomPDF.exe")
Process_Resume("OfficeClickToRun.exe")
Process_Resume("gapa.exe")
Process_Resume("DolbyDAX2API.exe")
Process_Resume("FoxitPhantomPDFUpdater.exe")
Process_Resume("splwow64.exe")
Process_Resume("Spoolsv.exe")
Process_Resume("7zFM.exe")
Process_Resume("Excel.exe")
Process_Resume("VLCPortable.exe")
Process_Resume("VLC.exe")
Process_Resume("Acrobat.exe")
Process_Resume("mmc.exe")




Process_Suspend(PName){
for process in ComObjGet("winmgmts:").ExecQuery("Select * from Win32_Process where Name = '" PName "'") {
PID := process.ProcessId
h:=DllCall("OpenProcess", "uInt", 0x1F0FFF, "Int", 0, "Int", pid)
If !h
Return -1
DllCall("ntdll.dll\NtSuspendProcess", "Int", h)
DllCall("CloseHandle", "Int", h)
}
}

Process_Resume(PName){
for process in ComObjGet("winmgmts:").ExecQuery("Select * from Win32_Process where Name = '" PName "'") {
PID := process.ProcessId
h:=DllCall("OpenProcess", "uInt", 0x1F0FFF, "Int", 0, "Int", pid)
If !h
Return -1
DllCall("ntdll.dll\NtResumeProcess", "Int", h)
DllCall("CloseHandle", "Int", h)
}
}

Goto Start

Doktor RyConn
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:57 pm

Re: latency problems

Post by Doktor RyConn » Tue Sep 29, 2020 12:22 am

Dalicus wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 11:20 pm
When I'm multitasking on my laptop I use an Autohotkey script which suspends (freezes) other apps of my choosing running when Ableton is the active window.
Hey Dalicus, I am just getting started with Autohotkey - this looks really cool. Are you still using this script? Have you ran into any major issues with using it?
-- Dok RyConn --

Post Reply