Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2 if Monitor Refresh >60Hz

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
craftycurate
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:23 pm

Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2 if Monitor Refresh >60Hz

Post by craftycurate » Wed May 30, 2018 12:14 am

I wonder if anyone else can reproduce this, in Live 10.0.2. I'm also in Win 7x64 Pro.

The Preferences and Export Dialogues sometimes take between 5 and 30 seconds to become responsive.

Sometimes when clicking a tab in the Preferences dialogue, nothing changes visually, but if I exit and reload it, it is now showing the tab I clicked on previously. So the mouse click is being processed, but the dialogie is not refreshing visually.

This is happening with 100% reproducibility, and I haven't noticed it in any other Live 10 release.

Ableton support have been informed, but I'm interested to know if anyone else is experiencing similar?
Last edited by craftycurate on Thu May 31, 2018 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Core i7 2.3GHz|Win7x64|8GB|1.5TB & Core 2 Duo T7200, XP Pro SP3,
Nio 2|4, Edirol PCR800, NanoKontrol , Komplete Synths + Reaktor 5, Cameleon, Alchemy, FabFilter 2 suite
http://www.myspace.com/richardlyallmusic http://craftycurate.blogs.com

Tarekith
Posts: 17371
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by Tarekith » Wed May 30, 2018 12:48 am

Are you using an external display?

craftycurate
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:23 pm

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by craftycurate » Wed May 30, 2018 1:50 pm

No, just the laptop one, with latest nVidia drivers.
Core i7 2.3GHz|Win7x64|8GB|1.5TB & Core 2 Duo T7200, XP Pro SP3,
Nio 2|4, Edirol PCR800, NanoKontrol , Komplete Synths + Reaktor 5, Cameleon, Alchemy, FabFilter 2 suite
http://www.myspace.com/richardlyallmusic http://craftycurate.blogs.com

spookydirt
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 12:13 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
Contact:

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by spookydirt » Wed May 30, 2018 4:40 pm

I'm finding a lag in everything,not just dialogues sometimes a new track created by a VSTi drop can take a couple of minutes to appear, although the VSTi interface has appeared.

restarted Live and timed it at 90 seconds before I could click on anything at all

Loaded last project (3 instruments, 4 audio loops) and it took this long to show up -
  • Launchpad S - 17seconds
    Ableton screen - 2 minutes 51 seconds
i5-7500 3.4GHz /16GB / Aphex207D / yellow lefty Danelectro / CZ-101 / E-Bow / Genius
Mink15 - Downtempo Triphop Indie Lo-Fi- Spookydirt - ambient space music - Far Black Furlong - ambientmedievalclassicalfolkdrone

Tarekith
Posts: 17371
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by Tarekith » Wed May 30, 2018 5:17 pm

Please contact support@ableton.com so they can get your system specs and help you track down the issue.

craftycurate
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:23 pm

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by craftycurate » Wed May 30, 2018 5:17 pm

Tarekith wrote:Please contact support@ableton.com so they can get your system specs and help you track down the issue.
Already done :)
Core i7 2.3GHz|Win7x64|8GB|1.5TB & Core 2 Duo T7200, XP Pro SP3,
Nio 2|4, Edirol PCR800, NanoKontrol , Komplete Synths + Reaktor 5, Cameleon, Alchemy, FabFilter 2 suite
http://www.myspace.com/richardlyallmusic http://craftycurate.blogs.com

spookydirt
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 12:13 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
Contact:

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by spookydirt » Wed May 30, 2018 5:31 pm

Tarekith wrote:Please contact support@ableton.com so they can get your system specs and help you track down the issue.
I'm about to do that very thing :-)
i5-7500 3.4GHz /16GB / Aphex207D / yellow lefty Danelectro / CZ-101 / E-Bow / Genius
Mink15 - Downtempo Triphop Indie Lo-Fi- Spookydirt - ambient space music - Far Black Furlong - ambientmedievalclassicalfolkdrone

craftycurate
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:23 pm

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by craftycurate » Thu May 31, 2018 1:08 pm

I had my screen refresh rate set to 120Hz, and setting it to 60Hz seems to have solved the problem.

Ableton support informed me that this should be fixed in a future update, but it won't appear in a stable release before 10.0.3 at the earliest.
Last edited by craftycurate on Thu May 31, 2018 11:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Core i7 2.3GHz|Win7x64|8GB|1.5TB & Core 2 Duo T7200, XP Pro SP3,
Nio 2|4, Edirol PCR800, NanoKontrol , Komplete Synths + Reaktor 5, Cameleon, Alchemy, FabFilter 2 suite
http://www.myspace.com/richardlyallmusic http://craftycurate.blogs.com

Reemo
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by Reemo » Thu May 31, 2018 3:39 pm

Same thing happens to me in 10.0.2. I am using Win10, full HD, 144Hz. Workaround is to minimize and maximize live (basically double click it in the task bar).

K1200S
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 2:01 am

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2

Post by K1200S » Thu May 31, 2018 10:10 pm

lowering to 60Hz worked for me for the meantime.

aklisiewicz
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 3:33 am

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2 if Monitor Refresh >60Hz

Post by aklisiewicz » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:32 am

same issue but even with 30 MHz refresh rate I still have problems. When on the settings page it takes 3-5 sec to change the Tab and when I open dropdown menu it feezez complataly. No access to Maximize/Minimize (no responding).

This make it almost impossible to work.
"You are what you think you are"
Sadarahu

mr.adl
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:02 pm

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2 if Monitor Refresh >60Hz

Post by mr.adl » Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:30 am

Had the lagging / freezing as well, here is a fix, which solved it for me (also suggested by the support):

-Create an option text file like in the description here:
https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... s-txt-file

-copy this text inside the text file: -_ForceGdiBackend

-put it in the folder as described in the upper link

-restart Live 10.03 (or install it)

8tySix
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:19 am

Re: Unresponsive dialogs in Live 10.0.2 if Monitor Refresh >60Hz

Post by 8tySix » Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:15 pm

mr.adl wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:30 am
Had the lagging / freezing as well, here is a fix, which solved it for me (also suggested by the support):

-Create an option text file like in the description here:
https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... s-txt-file

-copy this text inside the text file: -_ForceGdiBackend

-put it in the folder as described in the upper link

-restart Live 10.03 (or install it)
AMAZING!!! This fixed the screen flicker issue I've been having!!

Post Reply