Quick question with MIDI in Ableton

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
alvaro
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:01 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Quick question with MIDI in Ableton

Post by alvaro » Thu Jul 26, 2018 12:27 pm

Is it possible to select MIDI channel in Clip view, on a single MIDI track in Ableton? (I just see MIDI bank, sub and pgm)

For example I want to trigger by clip o atutomation in Arrangemeet, view different instruments in Kontakt, each one assigned to a certain MIDI channel.

is this feasible? Is there a workaround for triggering different instruments inside a single Kontakt instance in a selective way?

Thanks,
Image

bosonHavoc
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Quick question with MIDI in Ableton

Post by bosonHavoc » Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:40 pm

unfortunately, you will not be able to do it from the clip.

you can route separate midi tracks into the track with Kontakt.
use the "Midi to" of those tracks to set the midi channel.

Post Reply