Live 10 un-usable - high CPU load (?)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Freaquence
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:21 am

Live 10 un-usable - high CPU load (?)

Post by Freaquence » Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:27 pm

Hello,

there's a very strange behavior when I start Live - it slows down the performance of my whole PC, every mouse move is stuttering, every input takes 1 to 3 seconds until I get a feedback, and the cooling fan gets loud like I've never heard before - but when I take a look into the Windows Task-Manager it shows below 20 % CPU usage all the time.

I have already restarted my PC and checked for any related events in the system logs without success.
Every other audio related software I use is running without any issues, latency is okay.

Windows 10 Version 1803 (Build 17134.354)

Any advice would be appreciated.

grahamt
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:04 pm

Re: Live 10 un-usable - high CPU load (?)

Post by grahamt » Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:48 pm


Freaquence
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:21 am

Re: Live 10 un-usable - high CPU load (?)

Post by Freaquence » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:07 pm

Thanks, followed the instructions, but still facing the issue...

H20nly
Posts: 15838
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Live 10 un-usable - high CPU load (?)

Post by H20nly » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:50 pm

is it a laptop?


it could be the way Windows pretends to listen... There's some hidden settings for disks in the Advanced Power Settings that people often over look...

A picture is worth a thousand words though. Here's a link https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/284 ... -10-a.html

scroll down to the screen shots in step 7 and 8 of Option 1, right *before* Option 2.

Freaquence
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:21 am

Re: Live 10 un-usable - high CPU load (?)

Post by Freaquence » Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:21 pm

Thanks, but I've already set it like this (like some other energy/power settings for the CPU and so on).
Maybe I should have mentioned that I've been able to use Live 10 normally right after it had been released in Feb 18 for months, now I wanted to start again after a few weeks break, without having changed these settings.

H20nly
Posts: 15838
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Live 10 un-usable - high CPU load (?)

Post by H20nly » Wed Sep 12, 2018 4:59 pm

Well there's definitely been more than a few CPU issue threads on the forum lately.



:idea: it's probably not VSTs causing the issue. it rarely is.

Image

Post Reply