How to bypass high latency plugins while tracking?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
bank-manager

How to bypass high latency plugins while tracking?

Post by bank-manager » Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:50 am

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to Live. So this is not about "I'm getting latency and have no idea why - check your power settings" ;)

PDC in Live works fine for me. But I'm having an issue with the following situation:
- I got a high latency plugin on the master bus, e.g. Weiss Compressor
- Now when I play my Midi keyboard I get about 1 second delay before I hear the note playing <- all good, it's the PDC
- When I delete the Weiss Compressor from the master bus that delay is gone and I can play in realtime again. But it doesn't work if I just bypass the Weiss, so turning it off doesn't work.

Is there a way to get rid of the delay temporarily without deleting the plugins in question from the fx chain? Any way of PDC-Bypass? I tried the switches in the menu already like "reduce latency when monitoring" but that doesn't do the trick.

Thanks,
Banky.

EDIT: I'm on Live 9.7.7 lite at the moment but today my Push + 10 should arrive so maybe that's gonna fix it?

Angstrom

Re: How to bypass high latency plugins while tracking?

Post by Angstrom » Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:17 pm

Look for the option "reduced latency when monitoring". In the manual or in the menu, I forget which menu, top right, 3rd along 8 down. Something like that. I'm on my phone.

Anyway, when thats activated it gives the fastest audio path out. Ignoring latent plugins on other tracks. It will throw off clocked plugins (like beatclocked LFOs) but it was designed for this.

If theres a latent plugin chan on anither track it will ignore that latency. However if you have very latent plugins on the master then they are still in your active stream so theres no escaping them.

webpro

Post by webpro » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:30 pm

It's under OPTIONS (top left)
Select:
Reduced Latency when monitoring