Why is Live 10.03 setting up Core library with every startup

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
lovelight
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:01 pm
Contact:

Why is Live 10.03 setting up Core library with every startup

Post by lovelight » Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:36 pm

Every time i startup Live 10.03 and the beta version, it is setting up core library even if it has done it before ? also live index is running with every startup.

Its a new setup, new ssd harddisk completely new computer reboot with win 10.

The cpu performance is also terrible, before my new reboot of my system there was no lagging at all, ive done the option.txt thing -_ForceGdiBackend
and all the necessary driver updates and computer setup for best perfomance ( https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/ar ... indows-10/ ), buffer is set high 512.

win 10 16gb ram, i7 4790 3.60ghz with 8core ssd, apogee duet for win

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Why is Live 10.03 setting up Core library with every startup

Post by McAnix » Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:06 am

Try using either the release or the beta but not both and see if the problem persists.

I can't find where I read it, but I seem to remember having this issue and decided to stop using the beta. Obviously this isn't a solution especially if you want to use the beta.

lovelight
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Live 10.03 setting up Core library with every startup

Post by lovelight » Sun Oct 07, 2018 10:44 am

Thanks for your reply

sorry i dident formulated it well enough, im not using both on the same time.

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Why is Live 10.03 setting up Core library with every startup

Post by McAnix » Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:13 pm

No worries.

What I meant was try only using one version completely, don't use the other one at all, see if that works.

I am sure I read somewhere about this problem but I can't find it, maybe someone else can clarify? I think that if you jump between the beta and release then Live will reindex each time but I'm not 100% sure on this.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Why is Live 10.03 setting up Core library with every startup

Post by [jur] » Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:15 pm

It's normal when you jump between release and beta version.
Ableton Forum Moderator

Aperus
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 5:48 pm

Re: Why is Live 10.03 setting up Core library with every startup

Post by Aperus » Sun Oct 28, 2018 1:19 am

I upgraded from version 9 to 10 and am currently running version 10.0.5.

"Setting up core library" occurs every time I start Live 10.

I never switch back to Live 9.

This never happened in Live 9.

Is there a fix? It's really annoying!!!

[tow]
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: Ableton Headquarters

Re: Why is Live 10.03 setting up Core library with every startup

Post by [tow] » Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:55 pm

That's not a bug, but expected behaviour of Live 10 when alternating between regular and beta version.
It is Live's browser garbage collection at work, checking and removing content from the database that is not available in the currently started version. Without this, you might see entries in the browser that you could not access actually, which would be more confusing when switching between versions.

Post Reply