Live slow to load plugins

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
DataLife
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Live slow to load plugins

Post by DataLife » Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:34 am

On large sessions, all plugins take 10 seconds to load – even factory audio effects and new samples in drum rack cells.

Right now I'm on a pretty big session but it's running at only 20% on my CPU at 512 buffer. So there's no reason it should be doing this.

My computer is a Mac with i7 4790k (4.0 Ghz), 32 GB RAM... it's pretty beastly. I don't think this ever happened before Live v10.

Anyone else experiencing this?

antic604
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:14 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by antic604 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:06 pm

Yes, even in an empty session dragging a new device - instrument, effect, VST - always takes few seconds in which Live's GUI freezes, although playback continues in the background.
Adding that same device(s) afterwards is instant, so it's perhaps a buffering of some sort?

(Surface Pro 4, Win10)

produc3rboy
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:10 am

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by produc3rboy » Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:08 pm

DataLife wrote:On large sessions, all plugins take 10 seconds to load – even factory audio effects and new samples in drum rack cells.

Right now I'm on a pretty big session but it's running at only 20% on my CPU at 512 buffer. So there's no reason it should be doing this.

My computer is a Mac with i7 4790k (4.0 Ghz), 32 GB RAM... it's pretty beastly. I don't think this ever happened before Live v10.

Anyone else experiencing this?
just curious, are you on a hackintosh?

McAnix
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by McAnix » Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:37 pm

I had the same trouble a short while ago on my MB pro, doing a reset fixed it.

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... reset-Live

If you haven't done a reset before make sure you read and understand everything in the article.

DataLife
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by DataLife » Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:24 pm

produc3rboy wrote:
DataLife wrote:On large sessions, all plugins take 10 seconds to load – even factory audio effects and new samples in drum rack cells.

Right now I'm on a pretty big session but it's running at only 20% on my CPU at 512 buffer. So there's no reason it should be doing this.

My computer is a Mac with i7 4790k (4.0 Ghz), 32 GB RAM... it's pretty beastly. I don't think this ever happened before Live v10.

Anyone else experiencing this?
just curious, are you on a hackintosh?
Maybe 8)

I don't have the issue on new sessions though.
Last edited by DataLife on Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DataLife
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by DataLife » Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:27 pm

McAnix wrote:I had the same trouble a short while ago on my MB pro, doing a reset fixed it.

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... reset-Live

If you haven't done a reset before make sure you read and understand everything in the article.
Excited to try this, thanks!

DataLife
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by DataLife » Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:26 am

DataLife wrote:
McAnix wrote:I had the same trouble a short while ago on my MB pro, doing a reset fixed it.

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... reset-Live

If you haven't done a reset before make sure you read and understand everything in the article.
Excited to try this, thanks!
This worked! Thank you so much.

McAnix
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by McAnix » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:02 am

Good stuff!

antic604
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:14 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by antic604 » Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:12 am

McAnix wrote:I had the same trouble a short while ago on my MB pro, doing a reset fixed it.

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... reset-Live

If you haven't done a reset before make sure you read and understand everything in the article.
That sounds too good to be true, but I'm excited to try it this evening. Thanks!

EDIT: wow, it actually helped! Thanks :)

DataLife
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by DataLife » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:08 am

Update: the issue started happening again shortly after (a few hours). I thought this was clearly a sign of the index database slowing things down, but my Ableton application on an SSD and I tried not loading most of my samples into the sidebar in Ableton so it wouldn't index, and it still happens. Not sure.

DataLife
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Live slow to load plugins

Post by DataLife » Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:53 pm

I've discovered that it only happens on MIDI tracks, and when Push 2 is enabled! Turning it off in the Control Surfaces fixes the problem immediately.

Ableton is on the case.

Can't believe the problem was right in front of me, literally. :roll: But out of my entire setup, the last thing I expected to break Live was its own hardware.

Post Reply