Another noobie question from a wandering 19 year old fool

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Karanaway
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:44 am

Another noobie question from a wandering 19 year old fool

Post by Karanaway » Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:35 am

Hey all.

So, I'm having a little issue with Ableton instruments.

Let's say I load an instrument onto the MIDI track,

and I start click around inside the track, to see what fits

Well, for some reason, I can't hear any of the notes/sounds when I click in the track.

Computer MIDI mode is off and Draw note is off

Just for clarification, this is what I'm talking about: check the images below

https://imgur.com/a/oFRtCeD
https://imgur.com/a/D6q93iP

See, when I put that cymbal in by double clicking - I can't hear it through my headphones.

Thanks all

miyaru
Posts: 976
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Another noobie question from a wandering 19 year old fool

Post by miyaru » Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:55 am

Left obove the piano roll is headphone sign knob - press that untilit lights blue........
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6451
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Another noobie question from a wandering 19 year old fool

Post by Pitch Black » Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:57 am

Click the little headphone icon, upper left above the keyboard in your first pic. Now you’ll hear your notes as you edit or create them.
RMBP i7 2.8GHz | OSX 10.14.6 | Live10.1.15 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

miyaru
Posts: 976
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Another noobie question from a wandering 19 year old fool

Post by miyaru » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:36 am

Yep, that's what I meant, and said LOL
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

Karanaway
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:44 am

Re: Another noobie question from a wandering 19 year old fool

Post by Karanaway » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:38 pm

great great great. thanks

timday
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Another noobie question from a wandering 19 year old fool

Post by timday » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:54 pm

I'll be honest here I think that should be on by default. I understand why you sometimes need to turn it off but on is kind of expected behaviour.

Post Reply