Audio clips only contain references to samples

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
matthewnovachis
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:41 pm

Audio clips only contain references to samples

Post by matthewnovachis » Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:40 pm

Hi everyone
I am confused by the concept that Audio clips only contain references to samples on disk (rather than the
audio data itself). Can anyone help me understand this or refer me to an article or website that would address this?
Thank you!
Matt

yur2die4
Posts: 6511
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Audio clips only contain references to samples

Post by yur2die4 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:18 am

Creating an extra file allows Live to edit things ‘nondestructively’. A nifty bonus is that you can save multiple clips which reference the same audio file. This can save a lot of space. Clips themselves have a lot of data which wouldn’t make sense to integrate into an audio file. If you have automation for instance, that information is useless if you open the audio file somewhere else.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Audio clips only contain references to samples

Post by H20nly » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:25 am

think of it like this...

you record a guitar part for 24 bars.

8 bars of that are awesome.

you edit the file in the Live GUI so that the 16 sub par bars are gone and you have a perfect 8 bar loop.

the 8 good bars are being read off the original 24 bar file... but Live does not play the other bars. your audio clip dictates that Live ignores everything else during playback.

this comes in real handy with warping... because otherwise, you could not un-warp




"non-destructive" editing means you keep it all every time you press Record/Play... and fill up your hard drive with takes (at least if you are recording vocals or instruments). So, when you get a project to a point you are not turning back from, you can 'Collect All & Save' to a new folder and delete the old folder... when you delete the old one you free up all the space on your drive wasted by edits and material not used and no longer necessary in the mix.

Post Reply