Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by McAnix » Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:16 pm

Anyone else having problems with the MIO console 3d update?

Getting insane audio crackling with even low CPU meter, internal soundcard works fine.
I'm on Mac.

I guess I should post on the MH forum but just thought I'd ask here.

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by McAnix » Sat Nov 24, 2018 6:46 pm

This is so weird, on a high buffer size my project is unplayable but on a smaller buffer size like 128, it works, kinda. As soon as I go to 256 or higher the sound gets destroyed. I've never seen anything like this.

Myopic
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:19 am

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by Myopic » Sun Nov 25, 2018 12:17 am

I'm having the same issue. My temporary solution is to connect via USB rather than the MHLink. Does this help you too? Definitely contact MH. The more people reporting the issue the better :D

-Tim Meighen

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by McAnix » Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:46 am

Yeah USB is way better thanks, I'm still getting random hiccups though, not what I'm used too. The 3d console is still in beta so I guess this stuff will be ironed out.

Crave
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:49 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by Crave » Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:33 pm

Hai,

You guys n dolls had any luck solving this issue? I'm running into similar problems, and so does a fellow producer with a nearly identical set-up as mine.. I have Imac i7, 16G Ram, blah Blah.. Lio-8.. I can only run at 256 or 512 samples, have high latencies, audio crackle.. Like you, going above 512 only makes things worse! Also I noticed that reducing track counts from 32 to 16 or 8 in Mio only increases latency and Cpu Load.. With 32 Samples I still have 10.2 latency.. Also, from 32-128 samples everything is unworkalble.. Lastly I noticed that graphics seem to play a part too.. Opening plug-in windows makes things worse rapidly and on the other hand closing the Mio-mixer window helps a little.. This appears to be a specific Metric Halo/Ableton problem since i can't seem to find many other people who run into the same problems with the 3D upgrade.. Hope to hear from you...!

r.peters87
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 4:42 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by r.peters87 » Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:42 pm

Hey,

Have had the exact same issue. First had some overall bad performance and sample rate glitches. But after their support recommending to switch to utp instead of usb connection it's only gotten worse with constant crackling etc. no matter the buffer size or sample rate. It's the worst in Live, but other DAW's are far from smooth also.

I've switched to a spare focusrite for testing and to keep going and have hade none of these issues. Just sounds a lot less nice :s

I'm in contact with support again. I'll update here.

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by McAnix » Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:57 am

Wow can't believe people are still having issues with the 3d update and Live. I haven't used the MH since first posting here and I'll be returning to the studio that uses the MH this month, and yeah looks like nothing has been fixed, alas.

Crave
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:49 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by Crave » Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:56 am

Hai, MH is aware of the issues and are having audio crackles and issues themselves after trying a sent ableton set.. They're gonna look into it..

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by McAnix » Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:30 am

Crave wrote:Hai, MH is aware of the issues and are having audio crackles and issues themselves after trying a sent ableton set.. They're gonna look into it..
Thanks for the update.

Myopic
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:19 am

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by Myopic » Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:24 am

They have just released Public Beta 6
https://mhsecure.com/3d_public_beta/
Seem to be much better. So far. How is it working for you?

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by McAnix » Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:32 am

Myopic wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:24 am
They have just released Public Beta 6
https://mhsecure.com/3d_public_beta/
Seem to be much better. So far. How is it working for you?
I will only be able to check for myself at the end of the month, let us know how it goes.

Myopic
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:19 am

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by Myopic » Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:07 am

I think I spoke too soon. I had a good run doing new projects at 128 or even 64 samples (MHLink). But when there is any serious load there are crackles (and occasional click/pop at low CPU, which is particularly unacceptable). And generally far MORE when the buffer is really high like 512 or 2048.
Running the same project using the built laptop sound I can push the CPU far more and up the buffer size when things get too much.
I'm interested to see what others are hearing. I'm guessing, reading through the patch notes, that the latest Public Beta didn't include a fix, it was just wishful thinking on my part.

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by McAnix » Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:34 pm

Yup, sounds like nothings been fixed yet.

Henry Robinett
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 1:20 am
Location: Sacramento, California
Contact:

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by Henry Robinett » Sun Mar 03, 2019 1:30 am

I’m not apower Live user I’m trying to get back into it but I’m a big time Metric Halo user: 4 ULN-8 3d and a ULN-2 3d. I haven’t had any problems so far with the two.
All the best,

Henry Robinett
2 MP Quad Core 3.46/10.10.5/32 GB
Metric Halo ULN-8 3d (x4) ULN-2
DP 9, Logic, PT,Live 10, Falcon, VEP, Superior Drummer, Slate Drums, Kontakt3, Korg Legacy, UAD-2 Solo&Duo, Millennia HV3D, Lot's 'o mics . . .

McAnix
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm

Re: Metric Halo Console 3d Issue?

Post by McAnix » Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:41 pm

I was on the ULN-8 with the 3d update (latest beta) this weekend, with ethernet it is basically unusable with Live (on big sets). I didn't get to try it with USB though.

I unfortunately didn't have much chance to trouble shoot either.

Post Reply