External Instrument Monitoring Bug

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Peltz
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:47 pm

External Instrument Monitoring Bug

Post by Peltz » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:52 pm

Hey guys, so I have a weird bug with Ableton, I run an external instrument, and I can still hear it when I turn Monitor to off. When I mute the track it's actually mute, but no matter which setting in Monitor, I will hear it.

I run Ableton 10.0.2 on Mojave 10.14.1

Any ideas?

Shift Gorden
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:45 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Monitoring Bug

Post by Shift Gorden » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:15 pm

Could be a setting on your audio interface. On my Focusrite, I can set the input to always monitor on certain channels (which is cool, because I don't have to plug my computer in to actually play a synth or record or whatever)...and what you're experiencing is exactly the same problem I had a while back.

It was resolved by changing an option in my focusrite software.

What interface do you have, mate?

TLW
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:37 am

Re: External Instrument Monitoring Bug

Post by TLW » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:01 pm

The only time I’ve had this happen is when I’ve either messed up the signal routing in my interface or in Live.

Or both.

Which I manage to do quite regularly.

Post Reply