All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: trying to do some live looping, running into a painful issue
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:22 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:28 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Hey friends, I am currently trying to jam out live loops with ableton, but I keep running into an issue, If I am recording a loop and I hit the "stop recording" pad on my launchpad a little too late, it adds another 4 beats to my loop, even though 99.9% of that bar is empty.

Is there a way to automatically trim empty bars if I hit the stop button shortly after a loop? seems like this should have been thought of and implemented by now... :twisted:

_________________
-Elijah Lucian
http://www.elijahlucian.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: trying to do some live looping, running into a painful issue
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:14 am 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 4976
Location: Dunstable
No, it's called timing, do it before you read h the end of the loop (it sounds like you have your quantise set to a bar so you can do it at any point in the final bar)...

Cheers
D

_________________
www.isotonikstudios.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: trying to do some live looping, running into a painful issue
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:19 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 14504
This isnt much of a solution but I also have the kind of timimg which sees me hit "end of loop" ... precisely 3 ms after I should do

So, I wrote a thing for my footpedal which truncates the clip to the closest bar, or wherever I need it to be. It's probably not too transferable to anyone elses setup. However, if you have any skill in programming its a pretty simple set of calls to the Live API from python. Install it as a live remotescript. That sort of thing.

Actually, it would be relatively easy to make a M4L device which does the same thing, and map that to a MIDI input.

In case you vaguely understand what I'm talking about here, this is part of the Python remotescript, (I'm sure there's a framework method for this) but anyway ...

Code:
def setcliplooplength(self,value):
      self.current_slot_clip = self.song.view.highlighted_clip_slot.clip
      loop_end = self.current_slot_clip.loop_end
      loop_start= self.current_slot_clip.loop_start
      loop_duration = loop_end-loop_start
''' whatever you want to do with your durations here, but I'll just set this as an example ----
      fixedlength = 8.0
'''
      self.current_slot_clip.loop_end = loop_start + fixedlength



that's roughly how I do it.

_________________
Angstromnoises site | FB artist page | Instagram


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: trying to do some live looping, running into a painful issue
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:44 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:28 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Calgary, Alberta
S4racen wrote:
No, it's called timing, do it before you read h the end of the loop (it sounds like you have your quantise set to a bar so you can do it at any point in the final bar)...

Cheers
D


lol. timing.. dude, when you are strumming a guitar, it's kind of hard to hit the "stop the recording" button....

_________________
-Elijah Lucian
http://www.elijahlucian.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: trying to do some live looping, running into a painful issue
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:47 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:28 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Angstrom wrote:
This isnt much of a solution but I also have the kind of timimg which sees me hit "end of loop" ... precisely 3 ms after I should do

So, I wrote a thing for my footpedal which truncates the clip to the closest bar, or wherever I need it to be. It's probably not too transferable to anyone elses setup. However, if you have any skill in programming its a pretty simple set of calls to the Live API from python. Install it as a live remotescript. That sort of thing.

Actually, it would be relatively easy to make a M4L device which does the same thing, and map that to a MIDI input.

In case you vaguely understand what I'm talking about here, this is part of the Python remotescript, (I'm sure there's a framework method for this) but anyway ...

Code:
def setcliplooplength(self,value):
      self.current_slot_clip = self.song.view.highlighted_clip_slot.clip
      loop_end = self.current_slot_clip.loop_end
      loop_start= self.current_slot_clip.loop_start
      loop_duration = loop_end-loop_start
''' whatever you want to do with your durations here, but I'll just set this as an example ----
      fixedlength = 8.0
'''
      self.current_slot_clip.loop_end = loop_start + fixedlength



that's roughly how I do it.


hey man.. actually this is really great! do you by chance have a link to the live api documentation?

This is pretty exciting! Also I just bought the M4L extension, but I feel like the learning curve is really frigging hard haha.

Any tips you have on getting started with M4L would be much appreciated as well.. :)

Thanks!

_________________
-Elijah Lucian
http://www.elijahlucian.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group