Using MIDI Controller Live at Fixed Velocity

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
OwenDavies
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:04 pm

Using MIDI Controller Live at Fixed Velocity

Post by OwenDavies » Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:10 pm

Hi,

What I need to do is to play my MIDI controller live, through Ableton, at a fixed velocity (no touch sensitivity). My MIDI controller (M-Audio Oxygen-49) very frustratingly doesn't have an option for fixed velocity. Is there a setting on Ableton Live 10 Suite for it to take all MIDI input instantly at a fixed velocity for live situations?

Thanks for your help! It's also fairly urgent...

Owen

garyboozy
Posts: 2561
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Using MIDI Controller Live at Fixed Velocity

Post by garyboozy » Fri Jan 11, 2019 1:38 pm

MIDI Effects > Velocity
Set it to Fixed and use the Out Hi to set desired level.

doghouse
Posts: 1389
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Using MIDI Controller Live at Fixed Velocity

Post by doghouse » Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:27 pm

garyboozy wrote:MIDI Effects > Velocity
Set it to Fixed and use the Out Hi to set desired level.
That requires adding the Velocity device to every MIDI track.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1524
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Using MIDI Controller Live at Fixed Velocity

Post by [jur] » Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:31 pm

doghouse wrote:
garyboozy wrote:MIDI Effects > Velocity
Set it to Fixed and use the Out Hi to set desired level.
That requires adding the Velocity device to every MIDI track.
Yeah, but at least it works...
Or you can put on Velocity a monitoring midi track ans select it as your midi input for all other midi tracks; would be faster.
Ableton Forum Moderator

doghouse
Posts: 1389
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Using MIDI Controller Live at Fixed Velocity

Post by doghouse » Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:08 pm

[jur] wrote:Or you can put on Velocity a monitoring midi track ans select it as your midi input for all other midi tracks; would be faster.
That's what I would do.

Post Reply