Production

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
CurFoat

Production

Post by CurFoat » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:41 pm

Hello, I know that this topic has been posted about a million times because i have ran through each individual post from someone about it all the way back to 2008, but I am Struggling to find what's wrong.

I have been producing for a little over 6 months (3 of those months have been every day at least 5 hours a day) I am not trying to get views on my soundcloud i just need genuine help. I have ran through so many tutorials and on how to mix and master to see if that was the problem. But my songs sound boxy and so flat and dull with out any thickness.

I pulled the piano sample from Abletons sample library is it potentially the sound from that my guitar? I have also EQ'd everything and panned certain things so that there is at least a better spread of sound across the stereo space and added drum buss to the drums and glue compressed them and then glue compressed (just barley with all compression maybe 2db the master channel).Also put (R Bass)on the bass line and a host of other things.

This seems to happen every time I create something I get a very muddy thin dry sound and it's really starting to wear on me. Any feed back on any of it would be greatly appreciated, including suggestions on song writing style and literally ANY CRITIQUE is GREATLY appreciated. Thank's ahead of time to anyone who can help. https://soundcloud.com/chaplinstylee/c137happy-ending

Music i am referencing-https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ctc2n3NGeA (i know they are quite different but its more about the smoothness of the sound it phonetically pleasing)
Last edited by CurFoat on Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:16 am, edited 2 times in total.

S4racen

Re: Production

Post by S4racen » Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:43 pm

Use punctuation.

Cheers
D

jestermgee

Post by jestermgee » Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:33 pm

Use punctuation