Page 1 of 1

Huge bug in Ableton (8, 9, 10) - Add's unwanted silence

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:22 am
by thisisart
Huge bug in Ableton (8, 9, 10) - Add's unwanted silence when you export, consolidate, or crop at certain BPM's
https://www.reddit.com/r/ableton/commen ... d_silence/

I've sworn by Ableton since 2005 to create 100% rock-solid "on-the-grid" loops -- until today. The one time I am about to send files for Native Instruments to use/distribute, I find a bug. A HUGE BUG. Ableton 8, 9, 10 (Windows/Mac). Basically, if you own Ableton, you are affected. Here's the bug: Try to create an audio loop at 148 BPM. Export, consolidate, crop clip, I don't care how you do it. Just create a rock-solid "on-the-grid" loop at 148 BPM. Result: It will add a small amount of unwanted silence at end of loop. Feel free to test for yourself, tweak settings, etc. We're nerdy here in Nashville and did those tests, plus more. Yep, we tried that. (in response to "well, did you test this?"). Workaround: export audio at a BPM that doesn't add unwanted silence at end (90 BPM works so far) Yeah, I looked at the screen and thought to myself, "am I tripping?" for about 10-30 minutes. Then called my painfully Ableton-nerdy friend, who proceeded to grill me on tests. Went to his house, reproduced problem, game over.

Re: Huge bug in Ableton (8, 9, 10) - Add's unwanted silence

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:26 am
by jestermgee
STOP THE PRESSES: User finds game breaking bug!

If you are exporting something you want to loop, did you select the option to "Render as Loop"?

Tested myself by loading in a perfectly looped sample, warping it, loading it into arrangement, set to 148BPM and rendered as loop. Opened it in Wavelab and looped it and it is perfectly looped with no sign of a mS of silence at the end.

Re: Huge bug in Ableton (8, 9, 10) - Add's unwanted silence

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:24 am
by pottering
Can't reproduce it with instructions provided, Live 10.0.6b6 on Windows 10

Re: Huge bug in Ableton (8, 9, 10) - Add's unwanted silence

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:50 pm
by silversurfer60
Keep your hands off the herbs :mrgreen:

Re: Huge bug in Ableton (8, 9, 10) - Add's unwanted silence

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:07 pm
by Angstrom
Just tested with a loop export at 148 BPM, Live 10.0.6 b6

Outcome: no problems, the exported loop is totally fine and there is no gap. It loops perfectly.
No bug