Control MIDI volume within clips

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
8E
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Control MIDI volume within clips

Post by 8E » Mon Feb 18, 2019 9:23 pm

What is the Volume envelope inside of the clip? I try to edit that and get nothing.
It would be really great to have that to work with Volume.
Image
MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM / OS X El C Live Suite 9.7.6 + Push 1

pottering
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Control MIDI volume within clips

Post by pottering » Mon Feb 18, 2019 10:38 pm

MIDI is not audio.

The loaded instrument has to be set to respond to that MIDI CC message.

Many (if not most) aren't.

One alternative is using a Velocity device and automating that.

8E
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: Control MIDI volume within clips

Post by 8E » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:29 am

Thank you very much for the answer and tip!
MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM / OS X El C Live Suite 9.7.6 + Push 1

Post Reply