Live as a ReWire Device and Midi CC's?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
mike_o
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Martinez

Live as a ReWire Device and Midi CC's?

Post by mike_o » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:41 am

I'm using live as a rewire device with digital performer.

midi notes are playing just fine and almost everything is working properly.

I just can't get a midi CC assigned control in live to respond to midi CC messages coming in from digital performer.

is says here that...

Note: ln Live 9 and earlier, MIDI controllers and Control Surfaces are not available when Live is running in ReWire device mode. In the CPU preferences, it's possible to enable/disable Multicore/Multiprocesser Rewire.

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... and-ReWire

I've got live 10 suite and I believe it is now supposed to respond to mapped CC messages even under rewire, but it's not responding.

does anyone have any info on this, can it be done? is there a trick to making it work?

mike_o
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Martinez

Re: Live as a ReWire Device and Midi CC's?

Post by mike_o » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:47 am

Update to my question:

I found that if I route the midi CC's out of the ReWire Host (Digital Performer 9.5.2) using the iac bus driver then the midi maps in ableton respond properly and everything works.

but I still can't route midi CC data from digital performer into live directly through the rewire channels.

Is this a known issue?

Post Reply