Issue with Instrument Rack for Changing Presets

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Issue with Instrument Rack for Changing Presets

Post by LoopStationZebra » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:26 am

I've set up an Instrument Rack with different synth VSTs. I'm using dummy clips to move the chain selector, and have mapped the chain selector ruler to Macro 1. I've also mapped the device activator to Macro 1 as well. You can see what I've done in this tut:

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... or-devices

I go to trigger one of the dummy clips to select an instrument/preset in the chain, and it works fine. I select a different dummy clip and the correct device chain is selected. No problem. However, when I go to actually record a clip the currently selected chain doesn't stay put, it changes to the last chain I selected with the Macro. Confusing? Yes.

Basically:
If you set the Macro to 0 but use the dummy clips to select chains 1-5, when you go to record a clip the chain will switch back to 0.
If you set the Macro to 1, but fire off the dummy clip to select chain 3, the chain will switch to 1 when recording a new clip.

Does anyone know why this might be the case? Is it a natural behavior or a bug?

:x
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Issue with Instrument Rack for Changing Presets

Post by LoopStationZebra » Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:26 am

Just a little bump for this. Anyone else every seen this issue?
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Issue with Instrument Rack for Changing Presets

Post by LoopStationZebra » Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:32 pm

Well, I went the simple route and within each clip sent a Device on/off message - depending on it's order in the chain. Works perfectly.

:x
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

Post Reply