Launch Sample Editor button

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
matthewnovachis
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:41 pm

Launch Sample Editor button

Post by matthewnovachis » Thu May 02, 2019 7:10 pm

Hi everyone
I am confused by the Launch Sample Editor feature. I have Audacity set up in Preferences so when I click on the Edit button in the Sample Box, it does open in Audacity and I can edit it just fine.

My confusion is that the manual says "When you return to Live, the edited version of the sample will be played back."

Is the edited version supposed to just magically appear in the Clip View? Can anyone explain this clearly or know of a good resource to understand this better?

Thank you!
Matt

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Launch Sample Editor button

Post by [jur] » Thu May 02, 2019 8:25 pm

Yeah, it "magically" appears back in place of your clip. Just make sure to save your edits in Audacity first.
Ableton Forum Moderator

matthewnovachis
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:41 pm

Re: Launch Sample Editor button

Post by matthewnovachis » Thu May 02, 2019 9:20 pm

[jur] wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 8:25 pm
Yeah, it "magically" appears back in place of your clip. Just make sure to save your edits in Audacity first.
Thank you! That is the part I can't figure out. Every time I try and save it tells me "Save Project" is for an Audacity Project, not an audio file."
Any idea what I am doing wrong?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Launch Sample Editor button

Post by [jur] » Thu May 02, 2019 9:30 pm

I haven't used Audacity for sooooo many years. But it might have an option to "save to original file" or something like this.
Ableton Forum Moderator

matthewnovachis
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:41 pm

Re: Launch Sample Editor button

Post by matthewnovachis » Thu May 02, 2019 9:36 pm

[jur] wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 9:30 pm
I haven't used Audacity for sooooo many years. But it might have an option to "save to original file" or something like this.
cool. Thank you very much for your help!

wiploc
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:55 pm

Re: Launch Sample Editor button

Post by wiploc » Sat Jul 13, 2019 6:34 pm

How do you get the External Sampler to work with Propellerhead Reason?

Post Reply