How does Live differentiate between MIDI devices with same name?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
kjw
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:13 pm

How does Live differentiate between MIDI devices with same name?

Post by kjw » Thu May 16, 2019 9:11 pm

How does Live differentiate between MIDI devices with same name? I've noticed that if I plug in multiple devices then it will call them Synth, Synth #2, Synth #3 where Live is adding the #2 and #3 suffixes to help the user pick the right one. That's very useful but it fails for some other MIDI devices I have. My best semi-educated guess at the moment is that Ableton actually differentiates between devices that have the same USB VID and PID.

The problem I have is one device has a different USB PID but the same name and I think this confuses Ableton when I plug them all in. It fails to distinguish between the two different PIDs and I think I can only communicate with the first one it finds.

I'm a humble Live Lite user so I can't raise this as a support ticket :(

wearemindflux
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:33 pm

Re: How does Live differentiate between MIDI devices with same name?

Post by wearemindflux » Fri May 17, 2019 7:55 am

Hi, what is your full set up?
Grab your free techno samples here>>>http://bit.ly/2YAS8so

winston678
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 8:20 am

Re: How does Live differentiate between MIDI devices with same name?

Post by winston678 » Sat May 18, 2019 8:32 am

Hi, I have a similar question. I'm using a Korg MicroKey in Ableton Live 9 Standard on a 2015 15" MacBook Pro running High Sierra. I would like to buy an identical Korg MicroKey in order to play two different synths at the same time. Can Ableton differentiate between identical MIDI devices?

chrk
Posts: 1656
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:36 pm

Re: How does Live differentiate between MIDI devices with same name?

Post by chrk » Sat May 18, 2019 9:21 am

Korg is a good example for this kind of problem. They've got their Korg USB-MIDI driver that caters a number of devices. That installs a driver setup utility you need to run in order to identify and configure the driver for the particular device.

Some of these devices are capable of serving one of two MIDI ports (A vs. B). So it should be possible to configure two devices and make them both available to Live. Go to Korg's download page for the MicroKey, get the updated driver, manual and librarian software.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4861
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: How does Live differentiate between MIDI devices with same name?

Post by chapelier fou » Sat May 18, 2019 3:26 pm

To avoid this whole problem, and if possible, always try to sort devices by MIDI channels. That’s the old school way and the most reliable.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6435
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: How does Live differentiate between MIDI devices with same name?

Post by Pitch Black » Sat May 18, 2019 9:44 pm

I get a similar quirk with two Novation controllers, I have an SL25Mk2 and and SL61Mk2. Often one keyboard will be recognized as the other model by Live, which breaks the MIDI input assignments in saved sets. I have to be very careful to plug each kbd only into specific USB ports for it to be recognized correctly.
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Post Reply