Can Live do this?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
rahlo

Can Live do this?

Post by rahlo » Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:20 am

Whaddup party people?!

I'm interested in the possibility of using Live and Reason together, but couldn't find in the Live tutorial docs the answer to the following question: Once you bring a loop or sample into Live, can you chop it up into individual sounds and then trigger those pieces from a midi keyboard to make a new arrangement?

I saw where Live tells you that it's getting a midi signal, but there are no midi tracks in Live, right?

I downloaded the demo and played with it some, but wasn't able to answer this question. Thanks in advance for your help!

peace,

rahlo
------------------------------------------
http://www.blacksoilproject.com

Guest

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:24 am

can't do that on the fly (i don't think so at least) but can chop up any audio in an external audio editor and then save each bit as a seperate clip that can be triggered from a midi controller

muthafunka
Posts: 2233
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Post by muthafunka » Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:37 am

U could have the same loop in several clip slots, each with diff. start/end points as required, set each to trigger, switch off loop, assign a midi key to each, set snap to zero and Robert's yer father's brother. If you wanted to re-record your new part, play it live then render to disk. Will that do it?
nik

jdg
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 6:04 am
Location: seattle USA
Contact:

Post by jdg » Mon Jan 20, 2003 7:04 am

yeah.. when i want to cut it up like that i have the same loop in several cells with diff start points... also make sure you check out the coldcutter effect announced a few threads down.. auto beat cut-up effect..
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2281


p.s
Rahlo: nice trax on your site
www.google.com

best website ever

rahlo

Post by rahlo » Mon Jan 20, 2003 4:39 pm

muthafunka wrote:U could have the same loop in several clip slots, each with diff. start/end points as required, set each to trigger, switch off loop, assign a midi key to each, set snap to zero and Robert's yer father's brother. If you wanted to re-record your new part, play it live then render to disk. Will that do it?
nik
Ya know, it sounds like that'll get it done! I was reading Charlie Clouser's interview in the artist section of the Ableton site, and how he's using Live is exactly what I want to do. I bet this is how he chops his samples up in Live.

Thanks man!

peace,

rahlo
---------------------------------------
http://www.blacksoilproject.com

rahlo

Post by rahlo » Mon Jan 20, 2003 4:42 pm

jdg wrote:yeah.. when i want to cut it up like that i have the same loop in several cells with diff start points... also make sure you check out the coldcutter effect announced a few threads down.. auto beat cut-up effect..
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2281


p.s
Rahlo: nice trax on your site
Thanks for the tips, and also for checking out some of my music! I'll definitely read that thread you pointed me to, as well as check out your stuff too!

I appreciate the help, duke!

peace,

rahlo

Post Reply