Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2710
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by [jur] » Sun Mar 01, 2020 11:40 pm

That's really annoying to hear.

I have no idea if this could be related or not, but did you try removing any cracked plugin from your plugin directory? I'm thinking about this since that's certainly not something you would find on ableton's test computers and we need to find out what's different on your machine that we can't reproduce.
In any case I'm forwarding this once more to the team, and in the meantime let me know if my suggestion helps/is relevant or not.
Ableton Forum Moderator

fabrice segura
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:48 am
Location: nice/france

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by fabrice segura » Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:53 am

i have the same problèm, since many months with freezes, i change my hard drive to ssd, delete the vst folder
i sent my crashes, i use Ableton live10 suite, :?

sonik777
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 1:53 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by sonik777 » Sun Mar 29, 2020 12:55 pm

I've got the same issue, though it's appearance seems random. It happens more often than not.

Fresh install of windows 8.1

Ableton 10.1.9

No plugins

No places/folders

Everything on a samsung SSD

It did it before downloading the factory packs, and after.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2710
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by [jur] » Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:20 am

Please reach out to support@ableton.com for this problem.
Ableton Forum Moderator

JavidBabayev
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:16 pm

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by JavidBabayev » Mon Apr 06, 2020 7:37 am

Hi,
The most common case when Places keep spinning is:
Any unknown file types for Ableton, like rar, zip archives in the User Library or other attached folders.
Pleas check it very carefully. You can easily do it with Total Commander by showing all files in current dir and all subdirs.
Luck.

Angstrom
Posts: 14771
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by Angstrom » Mon Apr 06, 2020 1:43 pm

JavidBabayev wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 7:37 am
Hi,
The most common case when Places keep spinning is:
Any unknown file types for Ableton, like rar, zip archives in the User Library or other attached folders.
Pleas check it very carefully. You can easily do it with Total Commander by showing all files in current dir and all subdirs.
Luck.
interesting. Do you have any source on that or is it original research / tests.
I have lots of archive files in my Places.
EG in my /Music folder (which contains output songs) there will be many zips which have been sent to people as collections.
Most of the other folders contain archives too. There's not really a way for me to delete them all, because I need them.

Tarekith
Posts: 17811
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by Tarekith » Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:12 pm

Can't you try moving them to a folder outside your places temporarily, just to see if that fixes your issues?
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

Angstrom
Posts: 14771
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by Angstrom » Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:54 am

Tarekith wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:12 pm
Can't you try moving them to a folder outside your places temporarily, just to see if that fixes your issues?
Not really. What's mapped by Places includes a bunch of locations which include
Music (renders)
Live Songs (.als)
Audio (samples)

In each of those there are a myriad of sub folder. So in /Music (output waves) there's sub folders like /Stems, /Live Sets & stems, /Mix reminders, /Remixes, /General, /Need mastering, /Tutorial Sets, /Source Tracks , /Final , ... etc. the list goes on.

and in each one of those there are sub folders there are sub-folders again, such as "/sent" or "/received" or "running order example" or "Live at OHM stems" , etc.

Inside each of those is a dated folder, some of those have zipped Mp3 archives like "mix-reminder.zip" or "/music/live sets and stems/18-06-2019/running order test.zip".
So it's all quite nested. To pull them all out and put them all back again would be quite the undertaking.


It's weird that since 10.1 beta 18 Live suddenly decided that zip files which haven't been altered in years are worth scanning in depth. I have no idea what changed in that beta, but it wasn't a great idea because L10.1 beta 16 didn't do it, and beta 18 did.
I'm talking ancient history here of course.

Did I mention that the browser is crap? Not sure I've ever mentioned that. Thought it a good time to bring that up. It's still terrible.

analogcabin
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: Afton, VA
Contact:

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by analogcabin » Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:17 am

It all started after 10.0.6.
All worked fine until then.

Come on fellas help us out.

pottering
Posts: 1305
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by pottering » Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:39 pm

My guess it is either malware or anti-malware (either anti-virus that access files and trigger the indexing, or virtualization that blocks proper indexing).

Another guess: tools like Splice, Blend, Dropbox, etc. that constantly access folders, and save hidden folder/files on those too.

analogcabin
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: Afton, VA
Contact:

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by analogcabin » Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:58 pm

Here's what we do know:

For many of us-
*We do not have dropbox or G-drive in Places.
*We do not have malware or anti-malware
*Nothing IN our Places has changed
*All was fine at 10.0.6.
Last edited by analogcabin on Tue Apr 07, 2020 10:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pottering
Posts: 1305
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by pottering » Tue Apr 07, 2020 10:05 pm

analogcabin wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:58 pm
Here's what we do know:

For may of us-
*We do not have dropbox or G-drive in Places.
*We do not have malware or anti-malware
*Nothing IN our Places has changed
*All was fine at 10.0.6.
I searched the thread for "anti", "virus" and "malware" before posting, that's why I bothered posting it at all.

Maybe the search doesn't pick "virus" from the middle of "antivirus".

VVictor
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 1:50 pm

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by VVictor » Mon May 04, 2020 1:54 pm

Hi. Just installed the latest Ableton 10 suite update. I got only the ableton packs and the default user library and the wheel keeps spinning..
I will send an email..

willberriss
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 5:52 am

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning - YouTube videos then won't play

Post by willberriss » Tue May 05, 2020 5:58 am

Hi
I have the Places wheel spinning forever too. Worse still, when Ableton LIVE 10 LITE is running, YouTube web pages just won't load in my Chrome browser. It's as if Ableton is hogging all the network bandwidth or something. If I close Chrome, close Ableton LIVE and re-open Chrome, then I can load YouTube web pages successfully again and watch videos. But if I pause a video, then start up Ableton LIVE 10 LITE, the YouTube video refuses to continue or play and I cannot load any other YouTube videos. I have quite a low spec Windows 10 PC, 4GB RAM and a 1.10GHz Celeron N4100 CPU, but surely I should be able to watch YouTube videos and have Ableton running in the background (doing nothing.)
What is wrong, does anyone know?

andyfedak
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:29 pm

Re: Places wheel in browser keeps spinning

Post by andyfedak » Mon May 25, 2020 8:29 pm

Hey - I use a mixed environment, and the .DS info file that OSX leaves around seemed to confuse the Places to keep searching. Once I deleted those it stopped!

------------
wait - never mind it's back.

Post Reply