Simple Delay is gone!?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
felipe.gaioski
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 9:18 pm

Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by felipe.gaioski » Thu May 30, 2019 9:25 pm

So, I've been making a project. On the second day I was constantly saving it, but after a few times i got a message telling me that the project was made on an older version, or it had fewer resources, then asking me to save it as a new ableton live set. The thing is: the entire project was made in Live 10. I didn't care too much about it, I just saved it and continued with my work. Now I just realized that Simple Delay is gone.. I don't know if any other effect is missing too, but that's probably what caused that error message, as I was using that effect on my project. Anyway, I don't know what I did or if it was just program error, but I would like to have it back, but I don't have any clue of what I should do.. Hope someone can help me, thanks!

Mark Williams
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by Mark Williams » Thu May 30, 2019 9:30 pm

Update 10.1 Ping pong & simple delay now combined into 1 Delay device
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, K-2,Roland MC-707, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

Angstrom
Posts: 14662
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by Angstrom » Thu May 30, 2019 9:30 pm

"Delay" incorporates both Simple Delay and PingPong delay. it's better. Old sets just load that automatically and it should sound the same.

felipe.gaioski
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 9:18 pm

Re: Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by felipe.gaioski » Thu May 30, 2019 9:39 pm

Ah, got it! I just got a bit confused because it happened after I saved it other times, and Ableton didn't show me any update notification..

heppareppana
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:30 am

Re: Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by heppareppana » Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:25 am

How do I get new plugins to show? It still shows me Simple Delay and Filter Delay and old EQ's. Delays or their presents don't load so they are definitely gone.

Any easy method to refresh the internal effect database?

tomorrowstops
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:07 pm

Re: Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by tomorrowstops » Sun Jun 02, 2019 6:26 pm

Yeah, it took me a few re-saves of a couple projects to realize 10.1 happened (thought it was a bug). Guess I had auto-updates on in my preferences. It didn't mess with my projects thankfully!

Curious - if someone had a project utilizing Simple Delay with automation and the whole nine yards and went through the auto-update experience, how would the changes occur? Would 10.1 automatically switch the instance of Simple Delay over to Delay? Or would you have to start over with the new version of the plugin?

Tarekith
Posts: 17333
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by Tarekith » Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:20 am

It automatically switches. :)

JasonArgo
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:17 am

Re: Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by JasonArgo » Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:20 am

Sorry I'm late to the party, but just realized the change.

So what settings would equal the Simple Delay? I assume Filter & Ping Pong off, but which mode? Repitch, Fade, or Jump?

Thanks.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1687
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Simple Delay is gone!?

Post by [jur] » Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:19 am

JasonArgo wrote:
Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:20 am
Repitch, Fade, or Jump?
It depends... even though it was "hidden" (right-click de the device title header) this option has always been there in Simple Delay.
Ableton Forum Moderator

Post Reply