Routing multiple external or plugin synth to external effects.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
chriss2020
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:56 am

Routing multiple external or plugin synth to external effects.

Post by chriss2020 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:58 am

Hi,

I have multiple *external* hardware/plugin synths and a single *external* effects processor. I am setting up a different track for each synth. Ill describe the setup and the problem:

Synth-A is loaded as an external instrument in a midi track:
Midi To: Synth-A
Audio From: Ch 1 (Synth-A)

Synth-B is loaded as an external instrument in another midi track:
Midi To: Synth-B
Audio From: Ch 2 (Synth-B)

Here is where the problem comes in. I would like to send both tracks to an external effects processor (eventide eclipse). My audio interface (Focusrite Scarlett 6i6) output is routed to the effects processor ( I want to process software instruments/plugins as well). The processor outputs are routed to inputs on the audio interface.

Setup Synth-A:
Add external effect with:
Audio To: Effects
Audio From: Ch 3/4 (Effects)

Setup Track for Synth-B
Add external effect with:
Audio To: Effects
Audio From: Ch 3/4 (Effects)

I think the problem is that both tracks are receiving audio from 3/4 (the effects processor). So now, both tracks register audio from the effects even if only Track-A is playing.

For instance if Scene 1 Is only playing Track A, Track B will still receive sound from the FX, and they are both sending to the master, so its summed.

So the question is can I route multiple instruments to the same effects processor? E.g. I don't want Track A to receive the fx output from Track B...

Maybe I can do some more advanced setup with an Instrument Rack incorporating all the instruments that I will send to the FX unit. Ill have to dive into that more to see if it is a possible solution.

Angstrom
Posts: 14649
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing multiple external or plugin synth to external effects.

Post by Angstrom » Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:13 am

This would traditionally be where the Eventide was on a send/return rather than inserts.

In live that's done by putting the Eventide on a return channel using the External Effect device.

If you need 100% wet effects remember to set the pre/post toggle for the send to pre. (you'll need to mute the source track for times you need that source to go 100% wet.

chriss2020
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:56 am

Re: Routing multiple external or plugin synth to external effects.

Post by chriss2020 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:26 pm

Thanks Angstrom!

The note on wet effects is super helpful.

Post Reply