recording automation from external synth (Deepmind 12d)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Aton
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:29 am

recording automation from external synth (Deepmind 12d)

Post by Aton » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:45 pm

I have been producing with ableton since 2004 but never used external synths. So this is a newbie question for sure. Been looking at the deepmind12d and was wondering what I would be losing or gaining compared to vst synths. Will Live record the automation initiated from the external synth? And when I open my project will Live recall the preset that I used for the synth? Thanks for your help.

Mark Williams
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: recording automation from external synth (Deepmind 12d)

Post by Mark Williams » Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:42 pm

Automation will be recorded, but not recall what preset you used (not sure on midi program changes etc) I usually write the preset I use in track name
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, Novation Peak, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

Mark Williams
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: recording automation from external synth (Deepmind 12d)

Post by Mark Williams » Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:43 pm

Rename the Ableton track with the deepmind on with the preset is how I remember them lol.. Deepmind12 is a nice synth.
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, Novation Peak, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

Aton
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:29 am

Re: recording automation from external synth (Deepmind 12d)

Post by Aton » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:59 am

thanks!

blof_eld
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:59 am

Re: recording automation from external synth (Deepmind 12d)

Post by blof_eld » Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:43 am

Live will only record MIDI CC commands into clips, I don't know about the Deepmind but if it sends some changes using SYSEX commands then they will not be recorded into clips.

Aton
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:29 am

Re: recording automation from external synth (Deepmind 12d)

Post by Aton » Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:11 pm

Thanks for the info. My Diva VST is looking sweeter now that I know about the limits of the external hardware.

blof_eld
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:59 am

Re: recording automation from external synth (Deepmind 12d)

Post by blof_eld » Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:46 am

I like VST workflow much better than hardware. Maybe for gigging hardware is better but I'm nowhere near that level unfortunately. :lol:

Diva is a great synth.

Post Reply