Ableton + Nord Modular G2 as MIDI controller?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
shhh
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:42 pm

Ableton + Nord Modular G2 as MIDI controller?

Post by shhh » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:02 pm

Hi,

Does anyone use the Nord G2 as an external MIDI controller? I'd love to get Ableton and the G2 to talk with each other, but have difficulties setting it up correctly. I think I need to create a custom Control Surface script (https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... ace-script)…?

Anyone using these together?

Thx.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4915
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Ableton + Nord Modular G2 as MIDI controller?

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:42 pm

The G2 works as a regular MIDI controller (with the extra madness that it allows).
As far as I know it doesn't transmit MIDI through USB which is a shame.
You can use a custom script or not, that's up to you.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

shhh
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:42 pm

Re: Ableton + Nord Modular G2 as MIDI controller?

Post by shhh » Thu Jun 20, 2019 8:18 am

Thx. My apologies for making this easier then it might be : )

I can already control almost anything in Ableton, just setting up the correct MIDI channel. But I'd love to reflect any changes to the VSTi on the G2 as well. As the G2 uses endless-rotaries/encoders it's a bit difficult to guess a knobs position. Surely Ableton can talk back to the G2 to update its display values and encoder-lights?

E.g. if I close a filter half-way it would be nice if the display on the Nord actually shows a comparable value of around 64.

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Ableton + Nord Modular G2 as MIDI controller?

Post by ark » Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:04 pm

Check your inbox -- I've sent you a note describing what you need in order to do it.

blof_eld
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Ableton + Nord Modular G2 as MIDI controller?

Post by blof_eld » Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:01 am

Would be nice if you wrote the answer here for everyone to see.

I'm interested to see what the solution is to get Ableton to send the position of encoders to a MIDI device.

Post Reply