Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
sorenemil
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:32 pm

Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Post by sorenemil » Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:37 pm

My master channel is clipping, but the only channel playing ain't. Why?
Is it because of effects on the channel?
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1K8_odc ... sp=sharing

Tarekith
Posts: 17279
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Post by Tarekith » Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:03 pm

If you have effects on the master channel but not on the single track channel, that would be the likely culprit.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1584
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Post by [jur] » Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:35 pm

Tracks have a very large headroom (this has to do with the bit resolution), EXCEPT for the master track.
But in your case it sounds more like what Tarekith said.
Ableton Forum Moderator

sorenemil
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:32 pm

Re: Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Post by sorenemil » Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:57 pm

Tarekith wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:03 pm
If you have effects on the master channel but not on the single track channel, that would be the likely culprit.
I do have effects on the audio channel, but not on the master

pottering
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Post by pottering » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:35 pm

That's a huge difference, like 4 or 5 times the gain.

Simple FX don't do that.

There is nothing in that vid that would cause that, OP needs to provide more info.

Shift Gorden
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:45 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Post by Shift Gorden » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:49 pm

pottering wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:35 pm
That's a huge difference, like 4 or 5 times the gain.

Simple FX don't do that.

There is nothing in that vid that would cause that, OP needs to provide more info.
Yeah, it looks like this is coming from an external instrument or mic, as far as I can tell from the routing? How's this set up, OP?

sorenemil
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:32 pm

Re: Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Post by sorenemil » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:28 pm

I run my electric guitar into my 2i2, and use a vst amp.
I thought the new dB with the vst would show up under the channel level.
Doesn’t it?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1584
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Why is the master level not the same as channel?

Post by [jur] » Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:47 pm

sorenemil wrote:
Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:28 pm
I run my electric guitar into my 2i2, and use a vst amp.
I thought the new dB with the vst would show up under the channel level.
Doesn’t it?
This is because an armed track meter is monitoring the input signal.
So in your case that's the dry guitar signal entering your track. What's going in the master is the output of your track containing the vst amp.
Try this:
record your guitar, unarm the track and play your clip. Both meters should now show the same level.
Ableton Forum Moderator

Post Reply