Select Dante DVS Input/Output device problem

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
wilgehof
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:06 pm

Select Dante DVS Input/Output device problem

Post by wilgehof » Sat Jul 20, 2019 3:09 pm

I have Dantes Virtual Soundcard installed (DVS) (16tracks) on a mac mini. My main output device is a iConnectAudio4+.
My goal: I want 16 channel In from DVS and 2channel out to iConnectAudi4+.

In Ableton, when I select Preferences/InputDevice to be 'DVS' while The Preferences/OutputDevice sits on 'iConnectAudio4+' , the selector jumps to 'NoDevice'.
If I then select the OutputDevice to be 'DVS', I can set the InputDevice to 'DVS'. And it all works perfectly.
As soon as I change the OutputDevice to iConnectAudio4+ the InputDevice jumps back to 'NoDevice'.

Can someone please explain what's wrong here?

grtz,
Joost

pottering
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Select Dante DVS Input/Output device problem

Post by pottering » Sat Jul 20, 2019 6:35 pm

PC user here, but AFAIK you have to aggregate devices to use multiple interfaces in Live.

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... interfaces

TLW
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Select Dante DVS Input/Output device problem

Post by TLW » Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:30 pm

There is no need to aggregate audio devices on a Mac to use multiple audio devices in Live 10. Macs don’t have Window’s or ASIO’s designed-in limitations on using multiple audio interfaces. Live’s help says of Macs:
“On Mac it is possible to choose different interfaces as Input and Output device in Live.
It's also possible to combine multiple audio interfaces into an aggregate device at a system level”

I often use my RME UFX as output and an iPad running software synths connected by a Lightning cable as input and they are not aggregated. All audio devices the system has activated are available to Live in any combination.

Creating an aggregate device in Audio/MIDI Setup can be useful under some circumstances but it’s not necessarily the best way to go. An aggregate device allows you to e.g. use two (or more) 8-input devices as if they are a single 16 input device, but unless the devices are identical clocking and latency issues can be a problem.

Anyway, on to wilgehof’s issue.

I don’t use Dante, so I don’t really know how much help I can be if this turns out to be a problem specific to Dante, but as I said I do use multiple interfaces at the same time. The first thing to check is that all audio devices you want to use are enabled in the Mac’s Audio/MIDI Setup app.

I’ve sometimes seen the input or output device switch in preferences to something else - usually when I switch audio preferences from the Mac’s built-in audio to the RME Coreaudio driver. All I have to do to fix things is to select the correct interfaces in the pull-downs again.

It might be that this is one of the times creating an aggregate audio device might work if Live won’t let you pick one input device and another output device.

Combine the Dante and iConnect in MacOS’s Audio Setup, enable the inputs and outputs you want to use in Audio Setup and disable the rest, then run Live and see if the aggregate device is available in Live’s audio preferences. You may or may not run into some problems with audio clocking or the latency between the two interface systems not aligning with each other correctly but unless you try it there’s no way of knowing if it will work or not.
Live 10.1 Suite, M4L, 2014/15 MacBook Pro 15.3” Retina i7, OS Mojave 10.14.5. RME UFX, assorted synths, guitars and stuff.

Post Reply