Adding audio stems and make all clips start at time zero

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
mountwest
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:57 pm

Adding audio stems and make all clips start at time zero

Post by mountwest » Thu Aug 08, 2019 2:50 pm

Hi,

I have this reoccurring problem when I drag in a load of stems into an empty Live-project, and the built-in analysis being made by Live attempts to set the start of all clips at different time codes.

I figured I shouldn't be the only one have the same issue and I'm looking for some solution.

Is there a way to import a lot of audio stems into a project and have all of them synced up from start?


Thank you!

Shift Gorden
Posts: 623
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:45 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: Adding audio stems and make all clips start

Post by Shift Gorden » Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:29 pm

Yeah, I bet that gets old.

Are all of your stems already set to the same BPM? If so, set Ableton to the desired BPM and turn off auto-warping. Then try it.

Of course, that won't help with stem start positions if they are all different.

mountwest
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Adding audio stems and make all clips start at time zero

Post by mountwest » Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:58 pm

Shift Gorden wrote:
Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:29 pm
Yeah, I bet that gets old.

Are all of your stems already set to the same BPM? If so, set Ableton to the desired BPM and turn off auto-warping. Then try it.

Of course, that won't help with stem start positions if they are all different.
Great input, perhaps I should turn off auto-warping when I work on mix projects to circumvent this problem.

I have experienced however that Ableton can set the start of the clip wherever it deems necessary, even if it is imported into the project with warp turned off, usually around the first transients of the clip.

Tarekith
Posts: 17371
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Adding audio stems and make all clips start at time zero

Post by Tarekith » Thu Aug 08, 2019 7:48 pm

I’ve seen that before myself a few times.

Post Reply