Ableton Live 10 Intro Audio without an Audio Interface

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Chark0503

Ableton Live 10 Intro Audio without an Audio Interface

Post by Chark0503 » Fri Aug 16, 2019 3:41 am

So I am pretty new to recording programs like ableton so I barely know anything. Excuse my lack of knowledge.

Ableton has been working great so far, but what I'm wanting to do is listen to my work without an audio interface. I use a laptop and it's mostly on the go so I usually like to mix away from my home studio area which is cluttered.

I previously used garageband and I enjoyed being able to mix and create midi tracks wherever I was. However, I'm not totally sure if ableton allows something like this

Like I said, I'm new to this so I apologize if I missed something obvious. I just want to hear my song without an audio interface so I can mix and make midi tracks when I'm not recording and away from my work desk.

Thanks!

jestermgee

Re: Ableton Live 10 Intro Audio without an Audio Interface

Post by jestermgee » Fri Aug 16, 2019 6:09 am

WHat you are asking is you want to use Live without a Dedicated interface (eg, a USB attached one) and use your internal audio interface?

Yes that is possible but of course will not have the performance of a dedicated one. Drivers or system management of the inbuilt interface may see it cause dropouts more than your external one and may have a greater latency (delay when pressing a key to make sound) but for on the go it should let you do something, bottom line is it is possible to use.

jonljacobi

Post by jonljacobi » Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:58 pm

Technically speaking, no you can’t. However, if what you mean is can you use the internal audio interface, then yes, you can do that.

TLW

Post by TLW » Sat Aug 17, 2019 1:32 am