Looper doesn’t start recording on time after scene change

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Teace
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 6:16 pm

Looper doesn’t start recording on time after scene change

Post by Teace » Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:00 pm

Hi everyone. When I go from scene 1 to scene 2 I automated a looper to start recording on scene 2. The quantization is set to one bar because I also want to be able to start recording with a foot pedal before the one of the new bar.
This means recording can not be automated to start at bar 1 of scene 2 because it needs 1 bar to start. I tried setting the dummy clip to start before bar 1 hoping the automation would start before bar 1 of scene 2 but that didn’t work.

Can I start recording with looper on bar 1 with quantisation set to 1 bar in the looper after scene change 1 to 2? If yes, how?

(UPDATE: also with the looper set to quantization none, and the automation set to the 1 on bar 1 of scene 2, the timing of the the start of the recording is not good: It starts too late.)

Thanks
T

chapelier fou
Posts: 4915
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Looper doesn’t start recording on time after scene change

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:51 am

Turn the dummy clip’s launch quantization to ‘none’
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Teace
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 6:16 pm

Re: Looper doesn’t start recording on time after scene change

Post by Teace » Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:35 pm

  • saved my life! Tnx!

Post Reply