Metronome Monitoring

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
TMDQ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:14 pm

Metronome Monitoring

Post by TMDQ » Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:20 pm

Hello! I have a Focusrite 2i4 and i'm starting to live looping with ableton.
My problem is that im looking to hear everything through my speakers except the metronome, which i want to hear it only through my headphones. I can do this setting the metronome output to 3/4 and the master to 1/2 but i want to be able to hear master through my headphones aswell.
Thank you very much!

fishmonkey
Posts: 4096
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Metronome Monitoring

Post by fishmonkey » Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:02 am

hi there,

there's two main options to consider:

if you don't need stereo output to your main sound system, you can use a single stereo pair for monitoring, and route all your performance audio to one side of a stereo pair, and the metronome to the other.

if you do want a stereo signal to your sound system, then here is one way to achieve what you want:
- group all your tracks
- create a new audio track, this will be your headphone monitoring track
- set the input of the new audio track to come from the group
- set the output of the new audio track to your cue outputs (3/4 in your case)
- if you just want the metronome in one ear, set the routing of the cue output to only output 3 or 4 (you may also want to tweak the panning of the new audio track to make it easier to hear the metronome)
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

TMDQ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:14 pm

Re: Metronome Monitoring

Post by TMDQ » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:02 am

Thank you very much! i didn't knew about grouping tracks. You really helped me.
Thank youuuu :D :D

Post Reply