Page 1 of 1

Metronome Monitoring

Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:20 pm
by TMDQ
Hello! I have a Focusrite 2i4 and i'm starting to live looping with ableton.
My problem is that im looking to hear everything through my speakers except the metronome, which i want to hear it only through my headphones. I can do this setting the metronome output to 3/4 and the master to 1/2 but i want to be able to hear master through my headphones aswell.
Thank you very much!

Re: Metronome Monitoring

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:02 am
by fishmonkey
hi there,

there's two main options to consider:

if you don't need stereo output to your main sound system, you can use a single stereo pair for monitoring, and route all your performance audio to one side of a stereo pair, and the metronome to the other.

if you do want a stereo signal to your sound system, then here is one way to achieve what you want:
- group all your tracks
- create a new audio track, this will be your headphone monitoring track
- set the input of the new audio track to come from the group
- set the output of the new audio track to your cue outputs (3/4 in your case)
- if you just want the metronome in one ear, set the routing of the cue output to only output 3 or 4 (you may also want to tweak the panning of the new audio track to make it easier to hear the metronome)

Re: Metronome Monitoring

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:02 am
by TMDQ
Thank you very much! i didn't knew about grouping tracks. You really helped me.
Thank youuuu :D :D