Drums MIDI mapping issue

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
MajesticGrizzly
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:05 pm

Drums MIDI mapping issue

Post by MajesticGrizzly » Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:34 pm

Hey,

I just installed Addictive Drums 2 and I wanted to write some MIDI for my drums.

I created a new MIDI track and added Addictive Drums to the track. But unlike Ableton's drums, the MIDI mapper (or whatever it's name is) is not loaded, and I see a normal keyboard, even though some of the keys work.

Here is the editor I have:
Image
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/20 ... 10-ad2.png

I would expect something like:

Image
https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/20 ... ndrums.png

garyboozy
Posts: 2586
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Drums MIDI mapping issue

Post by garyboozy » Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:56 pm

download this .adg file and drop it before your vst. it will change the midi editor to show general midi drum map names on each note. as long as the vst follows gm drum specs they should match up fairly well. this GM Drum MAp file used to be included in old versions of Live but was removed from the core library a few years back.

MajesticGrizzly
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: Drums MIDI mapping issue

Post by MajesticGrizzly » Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:28 pm

garyboozy wrote:
Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:56 pm
download this .adg file and drop it before your vst. it will change the midi editor to show general midi drum map names on each note. as long as the vst follows gm drum specs they should match up fairly well. this GM Drum MAp file used to be included in old versions of Live but was removed from the core library a few years back.
Thanks for your quick answer.

The drum map you've provided doesn't seem to fit Addictive Drums, as it correctly put names on keys but not the good ones. I'm kinda surprised Addictive Drums doesn't follow a general standard of MIDI mapping...

jonljacobi
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Drums MIDI mapping issue

Post by jonljacobi » Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:25 pm

Edit it to match and save it.

MajesticGrizzly
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: Drums MIDI mapping issue

Post by MajesticGrizzly » Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:52 pm

Well, there is a preset in the AD2 interface where you can select the GM map. Then your file perfectly fill the names.


For the further readers:
* On the AD2 interface, click on the "?" at the top-right corner and then "Map Window".
* On the left click on "Map preset"
* Select GM
* Save and set as default
* Import the .adg file before AD2

-> Problem solved!


Thank you guys

jonljacobi
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Drums MIDI mapping issue

Post by jonljacobi » Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:03 pm

Will the GM map constrain performance? Some drum instruments group sound variations for easier performance. I don’t know AD2.

Post Reply